Open menu Close menu Open Search Close search Open sharebox Close sharebox
ABC logo

. Index

. 1996 Index

. Flag

. Geography

. People

. Government

. Economy

. Transportation

. Commun'tions

. Defense

. Geo Names

. Feedback



French Polynesia Government 1996

    • Names:

        conventional long form:
        Territory of French Polynesia

        conventional short form:
        French Polynesia

        local long form:
        Territoire de la Polynesie Francaise

        local short form:
        Polynesie Francaise

    • Digraph:

    • Type:
      overseas territory of France since 1946

    • Capital:

    • Administrative divisions:
      none (overseas territory of France); there are no first-order administrative divisions as defined by the US Government, but there are 5 archipelagic divisions named Archipel des Marquises, Archipel des Tuamotu, Archipel des Tubuai, Iles du Vent, and Iles Sous-le-Vent

        Clipperton Island is administered by France from French Polynesia

    • Independence:
      none (overseas territory of France)

    • National holiday:
      National Day, Taking of the Bastille, 14 July (1789)

    • Constitution:
      28 September 1958 (French Constitution)

    • Legal system:
      based on French system

    • Suffrage:
      18 years of age; universal

    • Executive branch:

        chief of state:
        President Francois MITTERRAND (since 21 May 1981); High Commissioner of the Republic Paul RONCIERE (since 8 August 1994)

        head of government:
        President of the Territorial Government of French Polynesia Gaston FLOSSE (since 10 May 1991); Deputy to the French Assembly and President of the Territorial Assembly Jean JUVENTIN (since NA November 1992); Territorial Vice President and Minister of Health Michel BUILLARD (since 12 September 1991)

        Council of Ministers; president submits a list of members of the Assembly for approval by them to serve as ministers

    • Legislative branch:

        Territorial Assembly:
        elections last held 17 March 1991 (next to be held March 1996); results - percent of vote by party NA; seats - (41 total) People's Rally for the Republic (Gaullist) 18, Polynesian Union Party 12, New Fatherland Party 7, other 4

        French Senate:
        elections last held 24 September 1989 (next to be held September 1998); results - percent of vote by party NA; seats - (1 total) party NA

        French National Assembly:
        elections last held 21 and 28 March 1993 (next to be held NA March 1998); results - percent of vote by party NA; seats - (2 total) People's Rally for the Republic (Gaullist) 2

    • Judicial branch:
      Court of Appeal, Court of the First Instance, Court of Administrative Law

    • Political parties and leaders:
      People's Rally for the Republic (Tahoeraa Huiraatira), Gaston FLOSSE; Polynesian Union Party (includes Te Tiarama), Alexandre LEONTIEFF; Here Ai'a Party, Jean JUVENTIN; New Fatherland Party (Ai'a Api), Emile VERNAUDON; Polynesian Liberation Front (Tavini Hviraatira No Te Ao Maohi), Oscar TEMARU; Independent Party (Ia Mana Te Nunaa), Jacques DROLLET; other small parties

    • Member of:
      ESCAP (associate), FZ, ICFTU, SPC, WMO

    • Diplomatic representation in US:
      none (overseas territory of France)

    • US diplomatic representation:
      none (overseas territory of France)

    • Flag:
      the flag of France is used

Thank you for making this an award winning site

Please put this page in your BOOKMARKS - - - - -

ITA Home Page
The IMMIGRATION Superhighway Feedback

Flags of all Countries
Yahoo search

Revised 13-August-1997

Copyright © 1995-2020 ITA (all rights reserved)