Open menu Close menu Open Search Close search Open sharebox Close sharebox
ABC logo

. Index

. 1996 Index

. Flag

. Geography

. People

. Government

. Economy

. Transportation

. Commun'tions

. Defense

. Geo Names

. Feedback



Greenland Government 1996

    • Names:

        conventional long form:

        conventional short form:

        local long form:

        local short form:
        Kalaallit Nunaat

    • Digraph:

    • Type:
      part of the Danish realm; self-governing overseas administrative division

    • Capital:
      Nuuk (Godthab)

    • Administrative divisions:
      3 municipalities (kommuner, singular - kommun); Nordgronland, Ostgronland, Vestgronland

    • Independence:
      none (part of the Danish realm; self-governing overseas administrative division)

    • National holiday:
      Birthday of the Queen, 16 April (1940)

    • Constitution:
      5 June 1953 (Danish constitution)

    • Legal system:

    • Suffrage:
      18 years of age; universal

    • Executive branch:

        chief of state:
        Queen MARGRETHE II (since 14 January 1972), represented by High Commissioner Steen SPORE (since NA 1993)

        head of government:
        Home Rule Chairman Lars Emil JOHANSEN (since 15 March 1991)

        Landsstyre; formed from the Landsting on basis of strength of parties

    • Legislative branch:

        Parliament (Landsting):
        elections last held on 4 March 1995 (next to be held 5 March 1999); results - Siumut 38.5%, Inuit Ataqatigiit 20.3%, Atassut Party 29.7%; seats - (31 total) Siumut 12, Atassut Party 10, Inuit Ataqatigiit 6, conservative splinter grouping 2, independent 1

        Danish Folketing:
        last held on 21 September 1994 (next to be held by September 1998); Greenland elects two representatives to the Folketing; results - percent of vote by party NA; seats - (2 total) Liberals 1, Social Democrats 1; note - Greenlandic representatives are affiliated with Danish political parties

    • Judicial branch:
      High Court (Landsret)

    • Political parties and leaders:
      two-party ruling coalition; Siumut (Forward Party, a moderate socialist party that advocates more distinct Greenlandic identity and greater autonomy from Denmark), Lars Emil JOHANSEN, chairman; Inuit Ataqatigiit (IA) (Eskimo Brotherhood, a Marxist-Leninist party that favors complete independence from Denmark rather than home rule), Josef MOTZFELDT; Atassut Party (Solidarity, a more conservative party that favors continuing close relations with Denmark), Daniel SKIFTE; AKULLIIT, Bjarne KREUTZMANN; Issituup (Polar Party), Nicolai HEINRICH

    • Diplomatic representation in US:
      none (self-governing overseas administrative division of Denmark)

    • US diplomatic representation:
      none (self-governing overseas administrative division of Denmark)

    • Flag:
      two equal horizontal bands of white (top) and red with a large disk slightly to the hoist side of center - the top half of the disk is red, the bottom half is white

Thank you for making this an award winning site

Please put this page in your BOOKMARKS - - - - -

ITA Home Page
The IMMIGRATION Superhighway Feedback

Flags of all Countries
Yahoo search

Revised 13-August-1997

Copyright © 1995-2020 ITA (all rights reserved)