ABC logo

. Index

. Flag

. Geography

. People

. Government

. Economy

. Transportation

. Commun'tions

. Defense

. Geo Names

. Feedback



South Georgia and the South Sandwich Islands

    • Names:

        conventional long form:
        South Georgia and the South Sandwich Islands

        conventional short form:

    • Digraph:

    • Type:
      dependent territory of the UK

    • Capital:
      none; Grytviken on South Georgia is the garrison town

    • Administrative divisions:
      none (dependent territory of the UK)

    • Independence:
      none (dependent territory of the UK)

    • National holiday:
      Liberation Day, 14 June (1982)

    • Constitution:
      3 October 1985

    • Legal system:
      English common law

    • Executive branch:

        chief of state:
        Queen ELIZABETH II (since 6 February 1952), represented by Commissioner David Everard TATHAM (since August 1992; resident at Stanley, Falkland Islands)

    • Legislative branch:
      no elections

    • Judicial branch:

Thank you for making this an award winning site

Please put this page in your BOOKMARKS - - - - -

ITA Home Page
The IMMIGRATION Superhighway Feedback

Flags of all Countries
Yahoo search

Revised 13-August-1997