Support our Sponsor

. . Flags of the World Maps of All Countries

  • |Main Index|
  • 1989 INDEX
  • Country Ranks
  • Home PageCountry Index

    Anguilla Government - 1989

      Long-form name: none

      Type: dependency of the UK

      Capital: The Valley

      Administrative divisions: none (dependent territory of the UK)

      Independence: none (dependent territory of the UK)

      Constitution: 1 April 1982

      Legal system: based on English common law

      National holiday: Anguilla Day, 30 May

      Branches: 11-member House of Assembly, seven-member Executive Council

      Leaders: @m5Chief of State--Queen ELIZABETH II (since 6 February 1952), represented by Governor Geoffrey O. WHITTAKER (since NA 1987); @m5Head of Government--Chief Minister Emile GUMBS (since NA 19 )

      Suffrage: native born, resident before separation from St. Kitts and Nevis, or 15 years' residence for belonger status

      Elections: last election held March 1989; next election scheduled March 1994

      Political parties and leaders: Anguilla National Alliance (ANA), Emile Gumbs; Anguilla United Party (AUP), Ronald Webster; Anguilla Democratic Party (ADP), Victor Banks

      Voting strength: March 1989 election--ANA 3 seats, AUP 2 seats, ADP 1 seat, 1 independent seat

      Communists: none

      Member of: Commonwealth

      Diplomatic representation: none (dependent territory of the UK)

      Flag: two horizontal bands of white (top, almost triple width) and light blue with three orange dolphins in an interlocking circular design centered in the white band

      NOTE: The information regarding Anguilla on this page is re-published from the 1989 World Fact Book of the United States Central Intelligence Agency. No claims are made regarding the accuracy of Anguilla Government 1989 information contained here. All suggestions for corrections of any errors about Anguilla Government 1989 should be addressed to the CIA.

    Support Our Sponsor

    Support Our Sponsor

    Please ADD this page to your FAVORITES - - - - -

    Revised 15-Apr-03
    Copyright © 2003 Photius Coutsoukis (all rights reserved)