Support our Sponsor

. . Flags of the World Maps of All Countries

  • |Main Index|
  • 1989 INDEX
  • Country Ranks
  • Home PageCountry Index

    Antigua and Barbuda Government - 1989

      Long-form name: none

      Type: independent state recognizing Elizabeth II as Chief of State

      Capital: Saint John's

      Administrative divisions: 6 parishes and 2 dependencies*; Barbuda*, Redonda*, Saint George, Saint John, Saint Mary, Saint Paul, Saint Peter, Saint Philip

      Independence: 1 November 1981 (from UK)

      Constitution: 1 November 1981

      Legal system: based on English common law; British Caribbean Court of Appeal has exclusive original jurisdiction and an appellate jurisdiction

      National holiday: Independence Day, 1 November (1981)

      Branches: bicameral legislative, 17-member elected House of Representatives and 17-member appointed Senate; executive--prime minister and Cabinet; judiciary--Court of Appeals

      Leaders: @m5Chief of State--Queen ELIZABETH II (since 6 February 1952), represented by Governor General Sir Wilfred Ebenezer JACOBS (since 1 November 1981, previously Governor since 1976); @m5Head of Government--Prime Minister Vere Cornwall BIRD, Sr. (since NA 1976); Deputy Prime Minister Lester BIRD (since NA 1976)

      Suffrage: universal suffrage at age 18

      Elections: every five years; last election held 9 March 1989

      Political parties and leaders: Antigua Labor Party (ALP), Vere C. Bird, Sr., Lester Bird; United National Democratic Party (UNDP), Dr. Ivor Heath

      Voting strength: (March 1989 election) House of Representatives--ALP 15 seats, UNDP 1 seat, independent 1 seat

      Communists: negligible

      Other political or pressure groups: Antigua Caribbean Liberation Movement (ACLM), a small leftist nationalist group led by Leonard (Tim) Hector; Antigua Trades and Labor Union (ATLU), headed by Noel Thomas

      Member of: CARICOM, Commonwealth, FAO, G-77, IBRD, ICAO, ILO, IMF, ISO, OAS, UN, UNESCO, WHO, WMO

      Diplomatic representation: Ambassador Edmund Hawkins LAKE; Chancery at Suite 2H, 3400 International Drive NW, Washington DC 20008; telephone (202) 362-5211 or 5166, 5122, 5225; there is an Antiguan Consulate in Miami; US--the US Ambassador to Barbados is accredited to Antigua and Barbuda, and in his absence, the Embassy is headed by Charge d'Affaires Reginald James McHUGH; Embassy at Queen Elizabeth Highway, Saint John's (mailing address is FPO Miami 34054); telephone (809) 462-3505 or 3506

      Flag: red with an inverted isosceles triangle based on the top edge of the flag; the triangle contains three horizontal bands of black (top), light blue, and white with a yellow rising sun in the black band

      NOTE: The information regarding Antigua and Barbuda on this page is re-published from the 1989 World Fact Book of the United States Central Intelligence Agency. No claims are made regarding the accuracy of Antigua and Barbuda Government 1989 information contained here. All suggestions for corrections of any errors about Antigua and Barbuda Government 1989 should be addressed to the CIA.

    Support Our Sponsor

    Support Our Sponsor

    Please ADD this page to your FAVORITES - - - - -

    Revised 15-Apr-03
    Copyright © 2003 Photius Coutsoukis (all rights reserved)