Support our Sponsor

. . Flags of the World Maps of All Countries

  • |Main Index|
  • 1989 INDEX
  • Country Ranks
  • Home PageCountry Index

    Belize Government - 1989

      Long-form name: none

      Type: parliamentary

      Capital: Belmopan

      Administrative divisions: 6 districts; Belize, Cayo, Corozal, Orange Walk, Stann Creek, Toledo

      Independence: 21 September 1981 (from UK; formerly British Honduras)

      Constitution: 21 September 1981

      Legal system: English law

      National holiday: Independence Day, 21 September

      Branches: bicameral legislature (National Assembly--electoral redistricting in October 1984 expanded House of Representatives from 18 to 28 seats; eight-member appointed Senate; either house may choose its speaker or president, respectively, from outside its membership); Cabinet; judiciary

      Leaders: @m5Chief of State--Queen ELIZABETH II (since 6 February 1952), represented by Governor General Dame Elmira Minita GORDON (since 21 September 1981); @m5Head of Government--Prime Minister Manuel A. ESQUIVEL (since 17 December 1984)

      Suffrage: universal at age 18

      Elections: parliamentary election held December 1984; next national election 1989

      Political parties and leaders: United Democratic Party (UDP), Manuel Esquivel, Curl Thompson, Dean Lindo; People's United Party (PUP), George Price, Florencio Marin, Said Musa; Belize Popular Party (BPP), Louis Sylvestre

      Voting strength: (December 1984) National Assembly--UDP 21 seats (25,785--54.1%), PUP 7 seats (20,971--44.0%)

      Communists: negligible

      Other political or pressure groups: United Workers Union, which is connected with PUP; Society for the Promotion of Education and Research (SPEAR) also associated with PUP

      Member of: CARICOM, CDB, Commonwealth, FAO, GATT, IBRD, IDA, IFAD, IFC, ILO, IMF, G-77, ISO, ITU, UN, UNESCO, UPU, WHO, WMO

      Diplomatic representation: Ambassador Edward A. LAING; Chancery at Suite 2J, 3400 International Drive NW, Washington DC 20008; telephone (202) 363-4505; US--Ambassador Robert G. RICH, Jr.; Embassy at Gabourel Lane and Hutson Street, Belize City (mailing address is P. O. Box 286, Belize City); telephone �501� 77161 through 77163

      Flag: blue with a narrow red stripe along the top and the bottom edges; centered is a large white disk bearing the coat of arms; the coat of arms features a shield flanked by two workers with a mahogany tree at the top and the related motto @m5SUB UMBRA FLOREO (I Flourish in the Shade) on a scroll at the bottom, all encircled by a green garland

      NOTE: The information regarding Belize on this page is re-published from the 1989 World Fact Book of the United States Central Intelligence Agency. No claims are made regarding the accuracy of Belize Government 1989 information contained here. All suggestions for corrections of any errors about Belize Government 1989 should be addressed to the CIA.

    Support Our Sponsor

    Support Our Sponsor

    Please ADD this page to your FAVORITES - - - - -

    Revised 15-Apr-03
    Copyright © 2003 Photius Coutsoukis (all rights reserved)