Support our Sponsor

. . Flags of the World Maps of All Countries

  • |Main Index|
  • 1989 INDEX
  • Country Ranks
  • Home PageCountry Index

    Botswana Government - 1989

      Long-form name: Republic of Botswana

      Type: parliamentary republic

      Capital: Gaborone

      Administrative divisions: 10 districts; Central, Chobe, Ghanzi, Kgalagadi, Kgatleng, Kweneng, Ngamiland, North-East, South-East, Southern; note--in addition, there may now be 4 town councils named Francistown, Gaborone, Lobaste, Selebi-Pikwe

      Independence: 30 September 1966 (from UK; formerly Bechuanaland)

      Constitution: March 1965, effective 30 September 1966

      Legal system: based on Roman-Dutch law and local customary law; judicial review limited to matters of interpretation; has not accepted compulsory ICJ jurisdiction

      National holiday: Botswana Day, 30 September (1966)

      Branches: executive--president appoints and presides over cabinet, which is responsible to National Assembly; bicameral legislature (National Assembly with 34 popularly elected members and four members elected by the 34 representatives; House of Chiefs with deliberative powers only); judicial--local courts administer customary law, High Court and subordinate courts have criminal jurisdiction over all residents, Court of Appeal has appellate jurisdiction

      Leader: @m5Chief of State and Head of Government--President Quett K. J. MASIRE (since 13 July 1980); Vice President Peter S. MMUSI (since 3 January 1983)

      Suffrage: universal at age 21

      Elections: general election held 8 September 1984

      Political parties and leaders: Botswana Democratic Party (BDP), Quett Masire; Botswana National Front (BNF), Kenneth Koma; Botswana People's Party (BPP), Knight Maripe; Botswana Independence Party (BIP), Motsamai Mpho; Botswana Progressive Union, Daniel Kwele

      Voting strength: (September 1984 election) Legislative Assembly--BDP, 28 seats; BNF, 5 seats; BPP, 1 seat

      Communists: no known Communist organization; Koma of BNF has long history of Communist contacts

      Member of: AfDB, CCC, Commonwealth, FAO, G-77, GATT (de facto), IBRD, ICAO, IDA, IFAD, IFC, ILO, IMF, INTERPOL, ITU, NAM, OAU, Southern African Customs Union, SADCC, UN, UNESCO, UPU, WHO, WMO

      Diplomatic representation: Ambassador-Designate Botsweletse Kingsley SEBELE; Chancery at Suite 404, 4301 Connecticut Avenue NW, Washington DC 20008; telephone (202) 244-4990 or 4991; US--Ambassador John F. KORDEK; Embassy at Botswana Road, Gaborone (mailing address is P. O. Box 90, Gaborone); telephone �267� 353982 through 353984

      Flag: light blue with a horizontal, white-edged black stripe in the center

      NOTE: The information regarding Botswana on this page is re-published from the 1989 World Fact Book of the United States Central Intelligence Agency. No claims are made regarding the accuracy of Botswana Government 1989 information contained here. All suggestions for corrections of any errors about Botswana Government 1989 should be addressed to the CIA.

    Support Our Sponsor

    Support Our Sponsor

    Please ADD this page to your FAVORITES - - - - -

    Revised 15-Apr-03
    Copyright © 2003 Photius Coutsoukis (all rights reserved)