Support our Sponsor

. . Flags of the World Maps of All Countries

  • |Main Index|
  • 1989 INDEX
  • Country Ranks
  • Home PageCountry Index

    Cambodia Government - 1989

      Long-form name: none

      Type: disputed

      Capital: Phnom Penh

      Administrative divisions: 18 provinces (khet, singular and plural) and 1 autonomous municipality* (rottatheanei, singular and plural); Batdambang, Kampong Cham, Kampong Chhnang, Kampong Spoe, Kampong Thum, Kampot, Kandal, Kaoh Kong, Kracheh, Mondol Kiri, Phnum Penh*, Pouthisat, Preah Vihear, Prey Veng, Rotanokiri, Siemreab-Otdar Meanchey, Stoeng Treng, Svay Rieng, Takev; note--there may be a new province of Banteay Meanchey and Siemreab-Otdar Meanchey may have been divided into two provinces named Siemreab and Otdar Meanchey

      Independence: 9 November 1953 (from France)

      Constitution: 27 June 1981

      National holidays: DK Independence Day, 17 April (1975); PRK Liberation Day, 7 January (1979)

      Branches: PRK--unicameral legislature (National Assembly); highest authority of the land is technically the Council of State, whose chairman serves as the country's president; Council of Ministers oversees implementation of party policies--chairman is equivalent of premier

      Leaders: @m5Chief of State PRK--Chairman of the Council of State HENG SAMRIN (since 27 June 1981); CGDK--President Prince NORODOM SIHANOUK (since NA July 1982); @m5Head of Government--PRK Chairman of the Council of Ministers HUN SEN (since 14 January 1985); CGDK--Prime Minister SON SANN (since NA July 1982); Vice President in Charge of Foreign Affairs KHIEU SAMPHAN (since NA July 1982)

      Suffrage: none

      Elections: none

      Political parties and leaders: PRK--Kampuchean People's Revolutionary Party, the Communist party installed by Vietnam in 1979; CGDK--an umbrella organization for three resistance groups, including Democratic Kampuchea under Khieu Samphan, Khmer People's National Liberation Front (KPNLF) under Son Sann, and National United Front for an Independent, Neutral, Peaceful, and Cooperative Cambodia (FUNCINPEC) under Prince Norodom Sihanouk

      Member of: ADB, Colombo Plan, ESCAP, FAO, G-77, GATT (de facto), IAEA, IBRD, ICAO, IDA, ILO, IMF, IMO, INTERPOL, IRC, ITU, Mekong Committee (inactive), NAM, UN, UNE SCO, UPU, WFTU, WHO, WMO, WTO for CGDK; none for PRK

      Diplomatic representation: none

      Flag: @m5Democratic Kampuchea--red with the yellow silhouette of a stylized three-towered temple representing Angkor Wat in the center; @m5Noncommunists--three horizontal bands of blue, red (double width), and blue with a white stylized temple representing Angkor Wat centered on the red band; @m5People's Republic of Kampuchea--red with the yellow silhouette of a stylized five-towered temple representing Angkor Wat in the center

      NOTE: The information regarding Cambodia on this page is re-published from the 1989 World Fact Book of the United States Central Intelligence Agency. No claims are made regarding the accuracy of Cambodia Government 1989 information contained here. All suggestions for corrections of any errors about Cambodia Government 1989 should be addressed to the CIA.

    Support Our Sponsor

    Support Our Sponsor

    Please ADD this page to your FAVORITES - - - - -

    Revised 15-Apr-03
    Copyright © 2003 Photius Coutsoukis (all rights reserved)