Support our Sponsor

. . Flags of the World Maps of All Countries

  • |Main Index|
  • 1989 INDEX
  • Country Ranks
  • Home PageCountry Index

    Cocos (Keeling) Islands Government - 1989

      Long-form name: Territory of Cocos (Keeling) Islands

      Type: territory of Australia

      Capital: West Island

      Administrative divisions: none (territory of Australia)

      Independence: none (territory of Australia)

      Constitution: Cocos (Keeling) Islands Act of 1955

      Legal system: the laws of Australia and local laws apply to the Territory; proposed ordinances, regulations, and bylaws for the Islands must be submitted to the Islands Council for its consideration

      National holiday: NA

      Branches: an administrator, appointed by the Governor General of Australia, resides in the islands; the Cocas Malay community is represented by the Cocos (Keeling) Islands Council; supreme court

      Leaders: @m5Chief of State--Queen ELIZABETH II (since 6 February 1952); @m5Head of Government--Administrator Carolyn STUART (since NA 19 ); Chairman of the Islands Council Parson Bin YAPAT (since NA 19 )

      Suffrage: NA

      Elections: NA

      Diplomatic representation: none (territory of Australia)

      Flag: the flag of Australia is used

      NOTE: The information regarding Cocos (Keeling) Islands on this page is re-published from the 1989 World Fact Book of the United States Central Intelligence Agency. No claims are made regarding the accuracy of Cocos (Keeling) Islands Government 1989 information contained here. All suggestions for corrections of any errors about Cocos (Keeling) Islands Government 1989 should be addressed to the CIA.

    Support Our Sponsor

    Support Our Sponsor

    Please ADD this page to your FAVORITES - - - - -

    Revised 15-Apr-03
    Copyright © 2003 Photius Coutsoukis (all rights reserved)