Support our Sponsor

. . Flags of the World Maps of All Countries

  • |Main Index|
  • 1989 INDEX
  • Country Ranks
  • Home PageCountry Index

    Congo Government - 1989

      Long-form name: People's Republic of the Congo

      Type: people's republic

      Capital: Brazzaville

      Administrative divisions: 9 regions (regions, singular--region); Bouenza, Cuvette, Kouilou, Lekoumou, Likouala, Niari, Plateaux, Pool, Sangha; note--there may be a new capital district of Brazzaville

      Independence: 15 August 1960 (from France; formerly Congo/Brazzaville)

      Constitution: 8 July 1979

      Legal system: based on French civil law system and customary law

      National holiday: National Day, 15 August (1960)

      Branches: presidential executive, Council of State; judiciary; all policy made by Congolese Labor Party Central Committee and Politburo

      Leaders: @m5Chief of State--President Denis SASSOU-NGUESSO (since 8 February 1979); @m5Head of Government--Prime Minister Ange Edouard POUNGUI (since 11 August 1984)

      Suffrage: universal over age 18

      Elections: elections for local and regional organs and the National Assembly were held in July 1979--the first elections since June 1973

      Political parties and leaders: Congolese Labor Party (PCT) is the only legal party; Party Congress held in July 1984--Sassou unanimously elected to another five-year term as President and party chairman

      Communists: unknown number of Communists and sympathizers

      Other political or pressure groups: Union of Congolese Socialist Youth (UJSC), Congolese Trade Union Congress (CSC), Revolutionary Union of Congolese Women (URFC), General Union of Congolese Pupils and Students (UGEEC)

      Member of: AfDB, CCC, Conference of East and Central African States, EAMA, ECA, EIB (associate), FAO, G-77, GATT, IBRD, ICAO, ICO, IDA, IFAD, IFC, ILO, IMF, IMO, INTELSAT, INTERPOL, ITU, NAM, OAU, UDEAC, UEAC, UN, UNESCO, UPU, WFTU, WHO, WIPO, WMO

      Diplomatic representation: Ambassador Benjamin BOUNKOULOU; Chancery at 4891 Colorado Avenue NW, Washington DC 20011; telephone (202) 726-5500; US--Ambassador Leonard G. SHURTLEFF; Embassy at Avenue Amilcar Cabral, Brazzaville (mailing address is B. P. 1015, Brazzaville, or Box C, APO New York 09662-0006); telephone 83-20-70 or 83-26-24

      Flag: red with the national emblem in the upper hoist-side corner; the emblem includes a yellow five-pointed star above a crossed hoe and hammer (like the hammer and sickle design) in yellow, flanked by two curved green palm branches; uses the popular pan-African colors of Ethiopia

      NOTE: The information regarding Congo on this page is re-published from the 1989 World Fact Book of the United States Central Intelligence Agency. No claims are made regarding the accuracy of Congo Government 1989 information contained here. All suggestions for corrections of any errors about Congo Government 1989 should be addressed to the CIA.

    Support Our Sponsor

    Support Our Sponsor

    Please ADD this page to your FAVORITES - - - - -

    Revised 15-Apr-03
    Copyright © 2003 Photius Coutsoukis (all rights reserved)