Support our Sponsor

. . Flags of the World Maps of All Countries

  • |Main Index|
  • 1989 INDEX
  • Country Ranks
  • Home PageCountry Index

    Cyprus Government - 1989

      Long-form name: Republic of Cyprus

      Type: republic; a disaggregation of the two ethnic communities inhabiting the island began after the outbreak of communal strife in 1963; this separation was further solidified following the Turkish invasion of the island in July 1974, which gave the Turkish Cypriots de facto control in the north; Greek Cypriots control the only internationally recognized government; on 15 November 1983 Turkish Cypriot President Rauf Denktash declared independence and the formation of a Turkish Republic of Northern Cyprus, which has been recognized only by Turkey; both sides publicly call for the resolution of intercommunal differences and creation of a new federal system of government

      Capital: Nicosia

      Administrative divisions: 6 districts; Famagusta, Kyrenia, Larnaca, Limassol, Nicosia, Paphos

      Independence: 16 August 1960 (from UK)

      Constitution: 16 August 1960; negotiations to create the basis for a new or revised constitution to govern the island and to better relations between Greek and Turkish Cypriots have been held intermittently

      Legal system: based on common law, with civil law modifications

      National holiday: Independence Day, 1 October

      Branches: currently the Government of Cyprus (GOC) has effective authority over only the Greek Cypriot community; GOC is headed by the president of the republic and is composed of the Council of Ministers, House of Representatives, and Supreme Court; in 1975 Turkish Cypriots created their own Constitution and governing bodies within the Turkish Federated State of Cyprus, which in 1983 was renamed the Turkish Republic of Northern Cyprus; the new Constitution for the Turkish area passed by referendum in May 1985

      Leaders: @m5Chief of State and Head of Government--President George VASSILIOU (since February 1988); @m5Note--Vice President Rauf R. DENKTAS was proclaimed President of the Turkish area on 13 February 1975

      Suffrage: universal at age 18

      Elections: officially every five years (last presidential election held in February 1988); parliamentary elections held in December 1985; Turkish-area presidential elections and assembly elections last held in June 1985

      Political parties and leaders: Greek Cypriot--Progressive Party of the Working People (AKEL; Communist Party), Ezekias Papaioannou; Democratic Rally (DESY), Glafkos Clerides; Democratic Party (DEKO), Spyros Kyprianou; United Democratic Union of the Center (EDEK), Vassos Lyssarides; Turkish area--National Unity Party (NUP), Dervis Eroglu; Communal Liberation Party (CLP), Ismail Bozkurt; Republican Turkish Party (RTP), Ozker Ozgur; New Birth Party (NBP), Aytac Besheshler

      Voting strength: in the 1988 presidential election, AKEL-backed independent George Vassiliou won with 52% of the vote; in the 1985 parliamentary election, the pro-Western Democratic Rally received 19 of the 56 seats; Kyprianou's center-right Democratic Party won 16 seats; Communist AKEL secured 15 seats; and socialist EDEK won 6 seats; in the 1985 presidential elections in the Turkish area, Rauf Denktash won with 70% of the vote; in the 1985 assembly elections the conservative National Unity Party won 24 of 50 seats; the Communist Republican Turkish Party received 12 seats; center-right Communal Liberation Party secured 10 seats; and the rightwing New Birth Party received 4 seats

      Communists: about 12,000

      Other political or pressure groups: United Democratic Youth Organization (EDON; Communist controlled); Union of Cyprus Farmers (EKA; Communist controlled); Cyprus Farmers Union (PEK; pro-West); Pan-Cyprian Labor Federation (PEO; Communist controlled); Confederation of Cypriot Workers (SEK; pro-West); Federation of Turkish Cypriot Labor Unions (Turk-Sen); Confederation of Revolutionary Labor Unions (Dev-Is)

      Member of: CCC, Commonwealth, Council of Europe, FAO, G-77, GATT, IAEA, IBRD, ICAO, ICO, IDA, IFAD, IFC, ILO, IMF, IMO, INTELSAT, INTERPOL, ITU, NAM, UN, UNESCO, UPU, WFTU, WHO, WMO, WTO; Turkish Federated State of Cyprus OIC (observer)

      Diplomatic representation: Ambassador Andrew J. JACOVIDES; Chancery at 2211 R Street NW, Washington DC 20008; telephone (202) 462-5772; there is a Cypriot Consulate General in New York; US--Ambassador Bill K. PERRIN; Embassy at the corner of Therissos Street and Dositheos Street, Nicosia (mailing address is FPO New York 09530); telephone �357� (2) 465151

      Flag: white with a copper-colored silhouette of the island (the name Cyprus is derived from the Greek word for copper) above two green crossed olive branches in the center of the flag; the branches symbolize the hope for peace and reconciliation between the Greek and Turkish communities

      NOTE: The information regarding Cyprus on this page is re-published from the 1989 World Fact Book of the United States Central Intelligence Agency. No claims are made regarding the accuracy of Cyprus Government 1989 information contained here. All suggestions for corrections of any errors about Cyprus Government 1989 should be addressed to the CIA.

    Support Our Sponsor

    Support Our Sponsor

    Please ADD this page to your FAVORITES - - - - -

    Revised 15-Apr-03
    Copyright © 2003 Photius Coutsoukis (all rights reserved)