Support our Sponsor

. . Flags of the World Maps of All Countries

  • |Main Index|
  • 1989 INDEX
  • Country Ranks
  • Home PageCountry Index

    Guyana Government - 1989

      Long-form name: Co-operative Republic of Guyana

      Type: republic within Commonwealth

      Capital: Georgetown

      Administrative divisions: 10 regions; Barima-Waini, Cuyuni-Mazaruni, Demerara-Mahaica, East Berbice-Corentyne, Essequibo Islands-West Demerara, Mahaica-Berbice, Pomeroon-Supenaam, Potaro-Siparuni, Upper Demerara-Berbice, Upper Takutu-Upper Essequibo

      Independence: 26 May 1966 (from UK; formerly British Guiana)

      Constitution: 6 October 1980

      Legal system: based on English common law with certain admixtures of Roman-Dutch law; has not accepted compulsory ICJ jurisdiction

      National holiday: Republic Day, 23 February (1970)

      Branches: Executive President, who appoints and heads a cabinet; unicameral legislature (65-member National Assembly); 53 elected by proportional representation every five years

      Leaders: @m5Chief of State--President Hugh Desmond HOYTE (since 6 August 1985); First Vice President Hamilton GREEN (since 6 August 1985); @m5Head of Government--Prime Minister Hamilton GREEN (since 6 August 1985)

      Suffrage: universal at age 18

      Elections: last held in December 1985

      Political parties and leaders: People's National Congress (PNC), Hugh Desmond Hoyte; People's Progressive Party (PPP), Cheddi Jagan; Working People's Alliance (WPA), Eusi Kwayana, Rupert Roopnarine, Moses Bhagwan; Democratic Labor Movement (DLM), Paul Tennassee; People's Democratic Movement (PDM), Llewellyn John; National Democratic Front (NDF), Joseph Bacchus; United Force (UF), Marcellus Feilden Singh; Vanguard for Liberation and Democracy (VLD, also known as Liberator Party), Gunraj Kumar, J. K. Makepeace Richmond

      Voting strength: (1985 election) 78% PNC (42 seats), 16% PPP (8 seats), 4% UF (2 seats), 2% WPA (1 seat)

      Communists: 100 (est.) hardcore within PPP; top echelons of PPP and PYO (Progressive Youth Organization, militant wing of the PPP) include many Communists; small but unknown number of orthodox Marxist-Leninists within PNC, some of whom formerly belonged to the PPP

      Other political or pressure groups: Trades Union Congress (TUC); Guyana Council of Indian Organizations (GCIO); Civil Liberties Action Committee (CLAC); the latter two organizations are small and active but not well organized

      Member of: CARICOM, CCC, CDB, FAO, G-77, GATT, IADB, IBA, IBRD, ICAO, ICJ, IDA, IDB--Inter-American Development Bank, IFAD, IFC, ILO, IMF, IMO, INTERPOL, IRC, ISO, ITU, NAM, OAS (observer), PAHO, SELA, UN, UNESCO, UPU, WFTU, WHO, WMO

      Diplomatic representation: Ambassador Dr. Cedric Hilburn GRANT; Chancery at 2490 Tracy Place NW, Washington DC 20008; telephone (202) 265-6900; there is a Guyanese Consulate General in New York; US--Ambassador Theresa A. TULL; Embassy at 31 Main Street, Georgetown; telephone �592� (02) 54900 through 54909

      Flag: green with a red isosceles triangle (based on the hoist side) superimposed on a long yellow arrowhead; there is a narrow black border between the red and yellow, and a narrow white border between the yellow and the green

      NOTE: The information regarding Guyana on this page is re-published from the 1989 World Fact Book of the United States Central Intelligence Agency. No claims are made regarding the accuracy of Guyana Government 1989 information contained here. All suggestions for corrections of any errors about Guyana Government 1989 should be addressed to the CIA.

    Support Our Sponsor

    Support Our Sponsor

    Please ADD this page to your FAVORITES - - - - -

    Revised 15-Apr-03
    Copyright © 2003 Photius Coutsoukis (all rights reserved)