Support our Sponsor

. . Flags of the World Maps of All Countries

  • |Main Index|
  • 1989 INDEX
  • Country Ranks
  • Home PageCountry Index

    Iceland Government - 1989

      Long-form name: Republic of Iceland

      Type: republic

      Capital: Reykjavik

      Administrative divisions: 23 counties (syslar, singular--sysla) and 14 independent towns* (kaupstadar, singular--kaupstadur); Akranes*, Akureyri*, Arnessysla, Austur-Bardhastrandarsysla, Austur-Hunavatnssysla, Austur-Skaftafellssysla, Borgarfjardharsysla, Dalasysla, Eyjafjardharsysla, Gullbringusysla, Hafnarfjordhur*, Husavik*, Isafjordhur*, Keflavik*, Kjosarsysla, Kopavogur*, Myrasysla, Neskaupstadhur*, Nordhur-Isafjardharsysla, Nordhur-Mulasysla, Nordhur-Thingeyjarsysla, Olafsfjordhur*, Rangarvallasysla, Reykjavik*, Saudharkrokur*, Seydhisfjordhur*, Siglufjordhur*, Skagafjardharsysla, Snaefellsnes-og Hanppadalssysla, Strandasysla, Sudhur-Mulasysla, Sudhur-Thingeyjarsysla, Vestmannaeyjar*, Vestur-Bardhastrandarsysla, Vestur-Hunavatnssysla, Vestur-Isafjardharsysla, Vestur-Skaftafellssysla

      Independence: 17 June 1944 (from Denmark)

      Constitution: 16 June 1944, effective 17 June 1944

      Legal system: civil law system based on Danish law; does not accept compulsory ICJ jurisdiction

      National holiday: Anniversary of the Establishment of the Republic, 17 June (1944)

      Branches: legislative authority rests jointly with president and parliament (Althing); executive power vested in president but exercised by Cabinet responsible to parliament; Supreme Court and 29 lower courts

      Leaders: @m5Chief of State--President Vigdis FINNBOGADOTTIR (since 1 August 1980); @m5Head of Government--Prime Minister Steingrimur HERMANNSSON (since 28 September 1988)

      Suffrage: universal over age 20 but not compulsory

      Elections: 63-member Althing--parliamentary elections held every four years, last election held 25 April 1987; presidential election held every four years--no election held in 1984 and in 1988 as President Finnbogadottir was the only candidate

      Political parties and leaders: Independence (conservative), Thorsteinn Palsson; Progressive, Steingrimur Hermannsson; Social Democratic, Jon Baldvin Hannibalsson; People's Alliance (left socialist), Olafur Ragnar Grimsson; Citizens Party (conservative nationalist), Albert Gudmundsson; Women's List

      Voting strength: (1987 parliamentary election) 27.2% Independence, 18.9% Progressive, 15.2% Social Democratic, 13.4% People's Alliance, 10.9% Citizens Party, Womens List 10.1%, other 4.3%

      Communists: less than 100 (est.), some of whom participate in the People's Alliance

      Member of: CCC, Council of Europe, EC (free trade agreement pending resolution of fishing limits issue), EFTA, FAO, GATT, IAEA, IBRD, ICAO, ICES, IDA, IFC, IHO, ILO, IMF, IMO, INTELSAT, INTERPOL, IPU, ITU, IWC--International Whaling Commission, NATO, Nordic Council, OECD, UN, UNESCO, UPU, WHO, WMO, WSG

      Diplomatic representation: Ambassador Ingvi S. INGVARSSON; Chancery at 2022 Connecticut Avenue NW, Washington DC 20008; telephone (202) 265-6653 through 6655; there is an Icelandic Consulate General in New York; US--Ambassador L. Nicholas RUWE; Embassy at Laufasvegur 21, Reykjavik (mailing address is FPO New York 09571-0001); telephone �354� (1) 29100

      Flag: blue with a red cross outlined in white that extends to the edges of the flag; the vertical part of the cross is shifted to the hoist side in the style of the @m5Dannebrog (Danish flag)

      NOTE: The information regarding Iceland on this page is re-published from the 1989 World Fact Book of the United States Central Intelligence Agency. No claims are made regarding the accuracy of Iceland Government 1989 information contained here. All suggestions for corrections of any errors about Iceland Government 1989 should be addressed to the CIA.

    Support Our Sponsor

    Support Our Sponsor

    Please ADD this page to your FAVORITES - - - - -

    Revised 15-Apr-03
    Copyright © 2003 Photius Coutsoukis (all rights reserved)