Support our Sponsor

. . Flags of the World Maps of All Countries

  • |Main Index|
  • 1989 INDEX
  • Country Ranks
  • Home PageCountry Index

    Kiribati Government - 1989

      Long-form name: Republic of Kiribati

      Type: republic

      Capital: Tarawa

      Administrative divisions: 3 units; Gilbert Islands, Line Islands, Phoenix Islands; note--a new administrative structure of 6 districts (Banaba, Central Gilberts, Line Islands, Northern Gilberts, Southern Gilberts, Tarawa) may have been changed to 20 island councils (one for each of the inhabited islands) named Abaiang, Abemama, Aranuka, Arorae, Banaba, Beru, Butaritari, Kiritimati, Kuria, Maiana, Makin, Marakei, Nikunau, Nonouti, Onotoa, Tabiteuea, Tabuaeran, Tamana, Tarawa, Teraina

      Independence: 12 July 1979 (from UK; formerly Gilbert Islands)

      Constitution: 12 July 1979

      National holiday: Independence Day, 12 July (1979)

      Branches: unicameral legislature--National Assembly (composed of 39 elected members and one nominated representative of the Banaban community); nationally elected president

      Leader: @m5Chief of State and Head of Government--President Ieremia T. TABAI (since 12 July 1979); Vice President Teatao TEANNAKI (since 20 July 1979)

      Suffrage: universal over age 18

      Elections: every four years

      Political parties and leaders: Gilbertese National Party, Christian Democratic Party

      Member of: ADB, Commonwealth, ESCAP (associate member), GATT (de facto), ICAO, IMF, SPF, WHO

      Diplomatic representation: Ambassador (vacant) lives in Tarawa (Kiribati); US--none

      Flag: the upper half is red with a yellow frigate bird flying over a yellow rising sun and the lower half is blue with three horizontal wavy white stripes to represent the ocean

      NOTE: The information regarding Kiribati on this page is re-published from the 1989 World Fact Book of the United States Central Intelligence Agency. No claims are made regarding the accuracy of Kiribati Government 1989 information contained here. All suggestions for corrections of any errors about Kiribati Government 1989 should be addressed to the CIA.

    Support Our Sponsor

    Support Our Sponsor

    Please ADD this page to your FAVORITES - - - - -

    Revised 15-Apr-03
    Copyright © 2003 Photius Coutsoukis (all rights reserved)