Support our Sponsor

. . Flags of the World Maps of All Countries

  • |Main Index|
  • 1989 INDEX
  • Country Ranks
  • Home PageCountry Index

    Liechtenstein Government - 1989

      Long-form name: Principality of Liechtenstein

      Type: hereditary constitutional monarchy

      Capital: Vaduz

      Administrative divisions: 11 communes (gemeinden, singular--gemeinde); Balzers, Eschen, Gamprin, Mauren, Planken, Ruggell, Schaan, Schellenberg, Triesen, Triesenberg, Vaduz

      Independence: 23 January 1719, Imperial Principality of Liechtenstein established

      Constitution: 5 October 1921

      Legal system: principality has its own civil and penal codes; lowest court is county court (Landgericht), which decides minor civil cases and summary criminal offenses; criminal court (Kriminalgericht) is for major crimes; the court of assizes is for misdemeanors; Superior Court (Obergericht) and Supreme Court (Oberster Gerichtshof) are courts of appeal for civil and criminal cases; an administrative court of appeal from government actions and the State Court determine the constitutionality of laws; accepts compulsory ICJ jurisdiction, with reservations

      National holiday: St. Joseph's Day, 19 March

      Branches: unicameral legislature (Diet) with 15 deputies elected to four-year terms (dissolved 23 January 1989); hereditary prince, independent judiciary

      Leaders: @m5Chief of State--Prince FRANZ JOSEF II (since 30 March 1938); Heir Apparent HANS ADAM von und zu Liechtensten (son of Prince Franz Josef II, born 14 February 1945; on 26 August 1984 Prince Franz Josef transferred executive powers to his son); @m5Head of Government--Prime Minister Hans BRUNHART (since 26 April 1978); Deputy Prime Minister Dr. Herbert WILLE (since 2 February 1986)

      Suffrage: universal adult

      Elections: every four years; next election scheduled for March 1989

      Political parties and leaders: Fatherland Union (VU), Dr. Otto Hasler; Progressive Citizens' Party (FBP), Dr. Herbert Batliner; Christian Social Party, Fritz Kaiser

      Voting strength: (1986) VU 50.2% (8 seats), FBP about 41.9% (7 seats)

      Communists: none

      Member of: Council of Europe, EFTA, IAEA, INTELSAT, INTERPOL, ITU, UNCTAD, UNIDO, UNICEF, UPU, WIPO; considering UN membership; has consultative status in the EC; under several post-World War I treaties Switzerland handles Liechtenstein's customs and represents the principality abroad on a diplomatic and consular level whenever requested to do so by the Liechtenstein Government

      Diplomatic representation: in routine diplomatic matters, Liechtenstein is represented in the US by the Swiss Embassy; US--the US has no diplomatic or consular mission in Liechtenstein, but the US Consul General at Zurich (Switzerland) has consular accreditation at Vaduz

      Flag: two equal horizontal bands of blue (top) and red with a gold crown on the hoist side of the blue band

      NOTE: The information regarding Liechtenstein on this page is re-published from the 1989 World Fact Book of the United States Central Intelligence Agency. No claims are made regarding the accuracy of Liechtenstein Government 1989 information contained here. All suggestions for corrections of any errors about Liechtenstein Government 1989 should be addressed to the CIA.

    Support Our Sponsor

    Support Our Sponsor

    Please ADD this page to your FAVORITES - - - - -

    Revised 15-Apr-03
    Copyright © 2003 Photius Coutsoukis (all rights reserved)