Support our Sponsor

. . Flags of the World Maps of All Countries

  • |Main Index|
  • 1989 INDEX
  • Country Ranks
  • Home PageCountry Index

    Martinique Government - 1989

      Long-form name: Department of Martinique

      Type: overseas department of France

      Capital: Fort-de-France

      Administrative divisions: none (overseas department of France)

      Independence: none (overseas department of France)

      Constitution: 28 September 1958 (French Constitution)

      Legal system: French legal system; highest local court is a court of appeal based in Martinique with jurisdiction over Guadeloupe, French Guiana, and Martinique

      National holiday: Taking of the Bastille, 14 July (1789)

      Branches: executive--prefect appointed by Paris; legislative--popularly elected General Council of 36 members and a Regional Council, including all members of the Council and the locally elected deputies and senators to the French parliament; judicial--under jurisdiction of French judicial system

      Leader: @m5Chief of State--President Francois Maurice MITTERRAND (since 21 May 1981; @m5Head of Government--Commissioner of the Republic Jean JOUANDET (since NA 1987)

      Suffrage: universal over age 18

      Elections: General Council election normally held every three years to reelect half of the councilors; last General Council election held in October 1988; Regional Council election held 16 March 1986; legislative election held June 1988

      Political parties: Rally for the Republic (RPR), Stephen Bago; Union of the Left composed of the Progressive Party of Martinique (PPM), Aime Cesaire; Socialist Federation of Martinique, Michael Yoyo; and the Communist Party of Martinique (PCM), Armand Nicolas; Union for French Democracy (UDF), Jean Maran

      Voting strength: 16 March 1986 election--Union of the Right composed of the PPM, FSM, and PCM, 21 seats; RPR, 11 seats; UDF 9 seats; French National Assembly--PPM 2 seats, UDF 1 seat, Socialist Party 1 seat

      Communists: 1,000 (est.)

      Other political or pressure groups: Proletarian Action Group (GAP); Alhed Marie-Jeanne Socialist Revolution Group (GRS), Martinique Independence Movement (MIM), Caribbean Revolutionary Alliance (ARC), Central Union for Martinique Workers (CSTM), Marc Pulvar; Frantz Fanon Circle; League of Workers and Peasants

      Member of: WFTU

      Diplomatic representation: as an overseas department of France, Martiniquais interests are represented in the US by France; US--Consul General Mary Dell PALAZZOLO; Consulate General at 14 Rue Blenac, Fort-de-France (mailing address is B. P. 561, Fort-de-France); telephone �596� 63-13-03

      Flag: the flag of France is used

      NOTE: The information regarding Martinique on this page is re-published from the 1989 World Fact Book of the United States Central Intelligence Agency. No claims are made regarding the accuracy of Martinique Government 1989 information contained here. All suggestions for corrections of any errors about Martinique Government 1989 should be addressed to the CIA.

    Support Our Sponsor

    Support Our Sponsor

    Please ADD this page to your FAVORITES - - - - -

    Revised 15-Apr-03
    Copyright © 2003 Photius Coutsoukis (all rights reserved)