Support our Sponsor

. . Flags of the World Maps of All Countries

  • |Main Index|
  • 1989 INDEX
  • Country Ranks
  • Home PageCountry Index

    Nauru Government - 1989

      Long-form name: Republic of Nauru

      Type: republic

      Capital: no capital city as such; government offices in Yaren District

      Administrative divisions: 14 districts; Aiwo, Anabar, Anetan, Anibare, Baiti, Boe, Buada, Denigomodu, Ewa, Ijuw, Meneng, Nibok, Uaboe, Yaren

      Independence: 31 January 1968 (from UN trusteeship under Australia, New Zealand, and UK); formerly Pleasant Island

      Constitution: 29 January 1968

      National holiday: Independence Day, 31 January (1968)

      Branches: president elected from and by Parliament for an unfixed term; popularly elected 18-member unicameral legislature (Parliament); four-member Cabinet to assist the president appointed by him from members of Parliament

      Leader: @m5Chief of State and Head of Government--President Hammer DEROBURT (since 11 May 1968, and relected eight times since, most recently on 27 January 1987)

      Suffrage: universal adult

      Elections: last held in January 1987

      Political parties and leaders: governing faction, Hammer DeRoburt; opposition Nauru Party, Lagumot Harris; Democratic Party of Nauru (formed 1987), Kennan Adeang

      Member of: Commonwealth (special member), ESCAP, ICAO, INTERPOL, ITU, South Pacific Commission, SPF, UPU

      Diplomatic representation: Ambassador T. W. STAR resides in Melbourne (Australia); there is a Nauruan Consulate in Agana (Guam); US--the US Ambassador to Australia is accredited to Nauru

      Flag: blue with a narrow, horizontal, yellow stripe across the center and a large, white, 12-pointed star below the stripe on the hoist side; the star indicates the country's location in relation to the Equator (the yellow stripe) and the 12 points symbolize the 12 original tribes of Nauru

      NOTE: The information regarding Nauru on this page is re-published from the 1989 World Fact Book of the United States Central Intelligence Agency. No claims are made regarding the accuracy of Nauru Government 1989 information contained here. All suggestions for corrections of any errors about Nauru Government 1989 should be addressed to the CIA.

    Support Our Sponsor

    Support Our Sponsor

    Please ADD this page to your FAVORITES - - - - -

    Revised 15-Apr-03
    Copyright © 2003 Photius Coutsoukis (all rights reserved)