Support our Sponsor

. . Flags of the World Maps of All Countries

  • |Main Index|
  • 1989 INDEX
  • Country Ranks
  • Home PageCountry Index

    Netherlands Antilles Government - 1989

      Long-form name: none

      Type: part of the Dutch realm--full autonomy in internal affairs granted in 1954

      Capital: Willemstad

      Administrative divisions: none (part of the Dutch realm)

      Independence: none (part of the Dutch realm)

      Constitution: 29 December 1954, Statute of the Realm of the Netherlands, as amended

      Legal system: based on Dutch civil law system, with some English common law influence

      National holiday: Queen's Day, 30 April (1938)

      Branches: federal executive power rests nominally with governor (appointed by the crown); actual power exercised by Council of Ministers (cabinet) presided over by minister-president; legislative power rests with 22-member Legislative Council; independent court system under control of chief justice of Supreme Court of Justice (administrative functions under Minister of Justice); each island territory has island council headed by lieutenant governor

      Leaders: @m5Chief of State--Queen BEATRIX Wilhelmina Armgard (since 30 April 1980), represented by Governor General Dr. Rene ROMER (since 1 October 1983); @m5Head of Government--Prime Minister Maria LIBERIA-PETERS (since 17 May 1988, previously served from September 1984 to November 1985)

      Suffrage: universal age 18 and over

      Elections: federal election mandatorily held every four years, last held 22 November 1985
      island council election every four years

      Political parties and leaders: political parties are indigenous to each island: Curacao--National People's Party (NVP), Maria Liberia-Peters; New Antilles Movement (MAN), Domenico Felip Martina; Democratic Party of Curacao (DP), Augustus Diaz; Workers' Liberation Front (FOL), Wilson (Papa) Godett; Socialist Independent (SI), George Hueck and Nelson Monte; Bonaire--New Force, Rudy Ellis; Democratic Party of Bonaire (PDB), John Evert (Jopie) Abraham; Sint Maarten--Democratic Party of Sint Maarten, Claude Wathey; Patriotic Movement of Sint Maarten, Romeo Paplophlet; Sint Eustatius--Democratic Party of Sint Eustatius, Albert K. Van Putten; Windward Islands People's Movement (WIPM), Eric Henriquez; Saba--Windward Islands People's Movement (WIPM Saba), Will Johnston; Saba Democratic Labor Movement, Vernon Hassell; Saba Unity Party, Carmen Simmonds

      Voting strength: 1985 election--PNP 6 seats, MAN 4 seats, DP 3 seats, DP-St. Maarten 3 seats, DP-Bonaire 2 seats, DP-St. Eustatius 1 seat, FOL 1 seat, UPB 1 seat, WIPM 1 seat; the government of Prime Minister Maria Liberia-Peters is a coalition of several parties

      Communists: small leftist groups

      Member of: EC (associate), INTERPOL; associated with UN through the Netherlands; UPU, WMO

      Diplomatic representation: as an autonomous part of the Netherlands, Netherlands Antillean interests in the US are represented by the Netherlands; US--Consul General Martin MCLEAN; Consulate General at St. Anna Boulevard 19, Willemstad, Curacao (mailing address P. O. Box 158, Willemstad, Curacao); telephone �599� (9) 613066

      Flag: white with a horizontal blue stripe in the center superimposed on a vertical red band also centered; five, white, five-pointed stars are arranged in an oval pattern in the center of the blue band; the five stars represent the five main islands of Bonaire, Curacao, Saba, Sint Eustatius, and Sint Maarten

      NOTE: The information regarding Netherlands Antilles on this page is re-published from the 1989 World Fact Book of the United States Central Intelligence Agency. No claims are made regarding the accuracy of Netherlands Antilles Government 1989 information contained here. All suggestions for corrections of any errors about Netherlands Antilles Government 1989 should be addressed to the CIA.

    Support Our Sponsor

    Support Our Sponsor

    Please ADD this page to your FAVORITES - - - - -

    Revised 15-Apr-03
    Copyright © 2003 Photius Coutsoukis (all rights reserved)