Support our Sponsor

. . Flags of the World Maps of All Countries

  • |Main Index|
  • 1989 INDEX
  • Country Ranks
  • Home PageCountry Index

    Norfolk Island Government - 1989

      Long-form name: Territory of Norfolk Island

      Type: territory of Australia

      Capital: Kingston (administrative center), Burnt Pine (commercial center)

      Administrative divisions: none (territory of Australia)

      Independence: none (territory of Australia)

      Constitution: Norfolk Island Act of 1957

      Legal system: wide legislative and executive responsibility under the Norfolk Island Act of 1979; Supreme Court

      National holiday: Pitcairners Arrival Day Anniversary, 8 June (1856)

      Branches: nine-member elected Legislative Assembly; chief executive is Australian administrator named by governor general

      Leader: @m5Chief of State--Queen ELIZABETH II (since 6 February 1952), represented by Administrator Commodore John A. MATTHEW (since NA 19 ), who is appointed by the Australian Governor General @m5Head of Government--Assembly President and Chief Minister John Terence BROWN (since NA 19 )

      Suffrage: proportional representation; all persons born on the island are Australian citizens

      Elections: last held in May 1989; every three years

      Diplomatic representation: none (territory of Australia)

      Flag: three vertical bands of green (hoist side), white, and green with a large green Norfolk Island pine tree centered in the slightly wider white band

      NOTE: The information regarding Norfolk Island on this page is re-published from the 1989 World Fact Book of the United States Central Intelligence Agency. No claims are made regarding the accuracy of Norfolk Island Government 1989 information contained here. All suggestions for corrections of any errors about Norfolk Island Government 1989 should be addressed to the CIA.

    Support Our Sponsor

    Support Our Sponsor

    Please ADD this page to your FAVORITES - - - - -

    Revised 15-Apr-03
    Copyright © 2003 Photius Coutsoukis (all rights reserved)