Support our Sponsor

. . Flags of the World Maps of All Countries

  • |Main Index|
  • 1989 INDEX
  • Country Ranks
  • Home PageCountry Index

    Pacific Islands, Trust Territory of the Government - 1989

      Long-form name: Trust Territory of the Pacific Islands (no short-form name); may change to Republic of Palau after independence; note--Belau, the native form of Palau, is sometimes used

      Type: UN trusteeship administered by the US; constitutional government signed a Compact of Free Association with the US on 10 January 1986, after approval in a series of UN-observed plebiscites; the Compact is expected to enter into force during 1989; Palau has a national president and vice president directly elected, a bicameral legislature, and a separate judiciary; until the UN trusteeship is terminated with entry into force of the Compact, Palau remains under US administration as the Palau District of the Trust Territory of the Pacific Islands

      Capital: Koror; a new capital is being built about 20 km northeast in eastern Babelthuap

      Administrative divisions: none

      Independence: expected during 1989 from the US-administered UN trusteeship (the last polity remaining under the trusteeship; the Republic of the Marshall Islands, Federated States of Micronesia, and Commonwealth of the Northern Marianas have left); administered by the Office of Territorial and International Affairs, US Department of Interior

      Constitution: 11 January 1981

      Legal system: based on Trust Territory laws, acts of the legislature, municipal, common, and customary laws

      National holiday: Constitution Day, 9 July (1979)

      Branches: executive--national president and vice president both popularly elected; legislative--Olbili Era Kelalu (OEK) (bicameral legislature); judicial--national Supreme Court headed by chief justice

      Leader: @m5Chief of State President George Herbert Walker BUSH (since 20 January 1989), represented by High Commissioner Janet MCCOY (since 19 ) @m5Head of Government President Ngiratkel ETPISON (since 2 November 1988)

      Suffrage: universal over age 18

      Elections: national president and vice president elected for four-year terms, as are the OEK members; last election November 1988

      Political parties: no formal parties

      Voting strength: 11,146 registered voters (1988)

      Note: Belau, the native form of Palau, is sometimes used

      Diplomatic representation: none; US--US Liaison Officer Steven R. PRUETT
      US Liaison Office at Top Side, Neeriyas, Koror (mailing address: P. O. Box 6028, Koror, Republic of Palau 96940); telephone 160-680-920 or 990

      Flag: light blue with a large yellow disk (representing the moon) shifted slightly to the hoist side

      NOTE: The information regarding Pacific Islands, Trust Territory of the on this page is re-published from the 1989 World Fact Book of the United States Central Intelligence Agency. No claims are made regarding the accuracy of Pacific Islands, Trust Territory of the Government 1989 information contained here. All suggestions for corrections of any errors about Pacific Islands, Trust Territory of the Government 1989 should be addressed to the CIA.

    Support Our Sponsor

    Support Our Sponsor

    Please ADD this page to your FAVORITES - - - - -

    Revised 15-Apr-03
    Copyright © 2003 Photius Coutsoukis (all rights reserved)