Support our Sponsor

. . Flags of the World Maps of All Countries

  • |Main Index|
  • 1989 INDEX
  • Country Ranks
  • Home PageCountry Index

    Pitcairn Islands Government - 1989

      Long-form name: Pitcairn, Henderson, Ducie, and Oeno Islands

      Type: colony of the UK

      Capital: Adamstown

      Administrative divisions: none (colony of the UK)

      Independence: none (colony of the UK)

      Constitution: Local Government Ordinance of 1964

      Legal system: Island Court; provisions for a Supreme Court

      National holiday: Celebration of the Birthday of the Queen (second Saturday in June), 10 June 1989

      Branches: administered locally by Island Council consisting of four elected island officers, a secretary, and five nominated members

      Leaders: R. A. C. BYATT, Governor and UK High Commissioner to New Zealand (since 1988); B. YOUNG, Island Magistrate and Chairman of the Island Council (since 1985)

      Suffrage: 18 years old and three years residency

      Elections: annual; Island Magistrate elected for a three-year term

      Communists: none

      Diplomatic representation: none (colony of the UK)

      Flag: blue with the flag of the UK in the upper hoist-side quadrant and the Pitcairn Islander coat of arms centered on the outer half of the flag; the coat of arms is yellow, green, and light blue with a shield featuring a yellow anchor

      NOTE: The information regarding Pitcairn Islands on this page is re-published from the 1989 World Fact Book of the United States Central Intelligence Agency. No claims are made regarding the accuracy of Pitcairn Islands Government 1989 information contained here. All suggestions for corrections of any errors about Pitcairn Islands Government 1989 should be addressed to the CIA.

    Support Our Sponsor

    Support Our Sponsor

    Please ADD this page to your FAVORITES - - - - -

    Revised 15-Apr-03
    Copyright © 2003 Photius Coutsoukis (all rights reserved)