Support our Sponsor

. . Flags of the World Maps of All Countries

  • |Main Index|
  • 1989 INDEX
  • Country Ranks
  • Home PageCountry Index

    San Marino Government - 1989

      Long-form name: Republic of San Marino

      Type: republic

      Capital: San Marino

      Administrative divisions: 9 municipalities (castelli, singular--castello); Acquaviva, Borgo Maggiore, Chiesanuova, Domagnano, Faetano, Fiorentino, Monte Giardino, San Marino, Serravalle

      Independence: 301 (by tradition)

      Constitution: 8 October 1600; electoral law of 1926 serves some of the functions of a constitution

      Legal system: based on civil law system with Italian law influences; has not accepted compulsory ICJ jurisdiction

      National holiday: Anniversary of the Foundation of the Republic, 3 September

      Branches: the Grand and General Council is the legislative body elected by popular vote; its 60 members serve five-year terms; Council in turn elects two captains-regent who exercise executive power for term of six months, the Congress of State, whose members head government administrative departments, and the Council of Twelve, the supreme judicial body; actual executive power is wielded by the secretary of state for foreign affairs and the secretary of state for internal affairs

      Leaders: Gabriele GATTI (Christian Democrat), Secretary of State for Foreign and Political Affairs and for Information (since July 1986); Alvaro SELVA (Communist), Secretary of State for Internal Affairs and Justice (since July 1978); Clara BOSCAGLIA (Christian Democrat), Secretary of State for Finance and Budget (since May 1988)

      Suffrage: universal

      Elections: election of members to the Grand and General Council required at least every five years; last election held 29 May 1988

      Political parties and leaders: Christian Democratic Party (DCS), Gabriele Gatti; Communist Party (PCS), Gilberto Ghiotti; Socialist Unity Party (PSU), Emilio Della Balda and Patrizia Busignani; San Marino Socialist Party (PSS), Antonio Volpinari; San Marino Social Democratic Party (PSDS), Augusto Casali; San Marino Republican Party (PRS), Cristoforo Buscarini

      Voting strength: (1988 election) DCS 27 seats, PCS 18 seats, PSU 8 seats, PSS 7 seats

      Communists: about 300 members; the PCS, in conjunction with the PSS, PSU, and PSDS, has led the government since 1978

      Other political parties or pressure groups: political parties influenced by policies of their counterparts in Italy

      Member of: ICJ, International Institute for Unification of Private Law, International Relief Union, ITU, IRC, UNESCO, UPU, WFTU, WHO, WTO; observer status in NAM

      Diplomatic representation: none; US--no mission in San Marino, but the Consul General in Florence (Italy) is accredited to San Marino; Consul General Diane DILLARD; Consulate General at 38 Lungarno Amerigo Vespucci, Florence, Italy; telephone 298-276

      Flag: two equal horizontal bands of white (top) and light blue with the national coat of arms superimposed in the center; the coat of arms has a shield (featuring three towers on three peaks) flanked by a wreath, below a crown and above a scroll bearing the word @m5LIBERTAS (Liberty)

      NOTE: The information regarding San Marino on this page is re-published from the 1989 World Fact Book of the United States Central Intelligence Agency. No claims are made regarding the accuracy of San Marino Government 1989 information contained here. All suggestions for corrections of any errors about San Marino Government 1989 should be addressed to the CIA.

    Support Our Sponsor

    Support Our Sponsor

    Please ADD this page to your FAVORITES - - - - -

    Revised 15-Apr-03
    Copyright © 2003 Photius Coutsoukis (all rights reserved)