Support our Sponsor

. . Flags of the World Maps of All Countries

  • |Main Index|
  • 1989 INDEX
  • Country Ranks
  • Home PageCountry Index

    Senegal Government - 1989

      Long-form name: Republic of Senegal

      Type: republic under multiparty democratic rule; on 1 February 1982, Senegal and The Gambia formed a loose confederation named Senegambia that calls for the eventual integration of their armed forces and economic cooperation

      Capital: Dakar

      Administrative divisions: 10 regions (regions, singular--region); Dakar, Diourbel, Fatick, Kaolack, Kolda, Louga, Saint-Louis, Tambacounda, Thies, Ziguinchor

      Independence: 4 April 1960 (from France); Senegambian confederation agreement formally signed with The Gambia on 12 December 1981 (effective 1 February 1982)

      Constitution: 3 March 1963, last revised in 1984

      Legal system: based on French civil law system; judicial review of legislative acts in Supreme Court, which also audits the government's accounting office; has not accepted compulsory ICJ jurisdiction

      National holiday: Independence Day, 4 April (1960)

      Branches: government dominated by the president; unicameral legislature (120-member National Assembly), elected for five years; president elected for five-year term by universal suffrage; judiciary headed by Supreme Court, with members appointed by president

      Leaders: Abdou DIOUF, President (since January 1981)

      Suffrage: universal adult

      Elections: presidential and legislative elections held 28 February 1988

      Political parties and leaders: Socialist Party (PS), Abdou Diouf; Senegalese Democratic Party (PDS), Abdoulaye Wade; 13 other small uninfluential parties

      Voting strength: (1988 election) PS 103 seats (73%), PDS 17 seats (25%)

      Communists: small number of Communists and sympathizers

      Other political or pressure groups: students, teachers, labor, Muslim Brotherhoods

      Member of: AfDB, APC, CCC, CEAO, EAMA, ECA, ECOWAS, EIB (associate), FAO, G-77, GATT, IAEA, IBRD, ICAO, IDA, IDB--Islamic Development Bank, IFAD, IFC, ILO, IMF, IMO, INTELSAT, INTERPOL, ITU, NAM, OAU, OCAM, OIC, OMVS (Organization for the Development of the Senegal River Valley), UN, UNESCO, UPU, WFTU, WHO, WIPO, WMO, WTO

      Diplomatic representation: Ambassador Ibra Deguene KA; Chancery at 2112 Wyoming Avenue NW, Washington DC 20008; telephone (202) 234-0540 or 0541; US--Ambassador George E. MOOSE; Embassy on Avenue Jean XXIII at the corner of Avenue Kleber, Dakar (mailing address is B. P. 49, Dakar); telephone �221� 21-42-96

      Flag: three equal vertical bands of green (hoist side), yellow, and red with a small green five-pointed star centered in the yellow band; uses the popular pan-African colors of Ethiopia

      NOTE: The information regarding Senegal on this page is re-published from the 1989 World Fact Book of the United States Central Intelligence Agency. No claims are made regarding the accuracy of Senegal Government 1989 information contained here. All suggestions for corrections of any errors about Senegal Government 1989 should be addressed to the CIA.

    Support Our Sponsor

    Support Our Sponsor

    Please ADD this page to your FAVORITES - - - - -

    Revised 15-Apr-03
    Copyright © 2003 Photius Coutsoukis (all rights reserved)