Support our Sponsor

. . Flags of the World Maps of All Countries

  • |Main Index|
  • 1989 INDEX
  • Country Ranks
  • Home PageCountry Index

    St. Helena Government - 1989

      Long-form name: none

      Type: colony of the UK

      Capital: Jamestown

      Administrative divisions: 2 dependencies and 1 administrative area*; Ascension*, Saint Helena, Tristan da Cunha

      Independence: none (colony of the UK)

      Constitution: 1 January 1967

      Legal system: Supreme Court

      National holiday: Celebration of the Birthday of the Queen (second Saturday in June), 10 June 1989

      Branches: Executive Council, 12-member elected Legislative Council

      Leaders: @m5Chief of State Queen ELIZABETH II (since 6 February 1952; @m5Head of Government Governor and Commander in Chief Francis E. BAKER (since 1984)

      Suffrage: NA

      Elections: general election held in October 1984

      Political parties and leaders: St. Helena Labor Party, G. A. O. Thornton; St. Helena Progressive Party, leader unknown

      Voting strength: both political parties inactive since 1976

      Communists: probably none

      Diplomatic representation: none (colony of the UK)

      Flag: blue with the flag of the UK in the upper hoist-side quadrant and the St. Helenian shield centered on the outer half of the flag; the shield features a rocky coastline and three-masted sailing ship

      NOTE: The information regarding St. Helena on this page is re-published from the 1989 World Fact Book of the United States Central Intelligence Agency. No claims are made regarding the accuracy of St. Helena Government 1989 information contained here. All suggestions for corrections of any errors about St. Helena Government 1989 should be addressed to the CIA.

    Support Our Sponsor

    Support Our Sponsor

    Please ADD this page to your FAVORITES - - - - -

    Revised 15-Apr-03
    Copyright © 2003 Photius Coutsoukis (all rights reserved)