Support our Sponsor

. . Flags of the World Maps of All Countries

  • |Main Index|
  • 1989 INDEX
  • Country Ranks
  • Home PageCountry Index

    St. Pierre and Miquelon Government - 1989

      Long-form name: Territorial Collectivity of Saint Pierre and Miquelon

      Type: territorial collectivity of France

      Capital: St. Pierre

      Administrative divisions: none (territorial collectivity of France)

      Independence: none (territorial collectivity of France)

      Constitution: 28 September 1958 (French Constitution)

      Legal system: superior court of appeal

      National holiday: National Day, 14 July

      Branches: executive--government commissioner appointed by Paris; legislative--popularly elected 14-member General Council for six-year terms; judiciary--under jurisdiction of French judicial system

      Leaders: Bernard LEURQUIN, Commissioner of the Republic; Marc PLANTEGENEST, President of the General Council

      Suffrage: universal over age 18

      Elections: French National Assembly, last held June 1988; French Senate, last held November 1986; 14-member St. Pierre and Miquelon General Council, every six years

      Political parties and leaders: Socialist Party (PS), Marc Plantegenest; Union for French Democracy (UDF)

      Voting strength: Socialist and other left-wing parties, 14 seats

      Diplomatic representation: as a territorial collectivity of France, local interests are represented in the US by France

      Flag: the flag of France is used

      NOTE: The information regarding St. Pierre and Miquelon on this page is re-published from the 1989 World Fact Book of the United States Central Intelligence Agency. No claims are made regarding the accuracy of St. Pierre and Miquelon Government 1989 information contained here. All suggestions for corrections of any errors about St. Pierre and Miquelon Government 1989 should be addressed to the CIA.

    Support Our Sponsor

    Support Our Sponsor

    Please ADD this page to your FAVORITES - - - - -

    Revised 15-Apr-03
    Copyright © 2003 Photius Coutsoukis (all rights reserved)