Support our Sponsor

. . Flags of the World Maps of All Countries

  • |Main Index|
  • 1989 INDEX
  • Country Ranks
  • Home PageCountry Index

    Suriname Government - 1989

      Long-form name: Republic of Suriname

      Type: republic

      Capital: Paramaribo

      Administrative divisions: 10 districts (districten, singular--district); Brokopondo, Commewijne, Coronie, Marowijne, Nickerie, Para, Paramaribo, Saramacca, Sipaliwini, Wanica

      Independence: 25 November 1975 (from Netherlands; formerly Netherlands or Dutch Guiana)

      Constitution: ratified 30 September 1987

      Legal system: judicial system functions in ordinary civil and criminal cases

      National holiday: Independence Day, 25 November (1975)

      Branches: executive--president and vice president elected by the National Assembly; legislative--National Assembly has 51 members elected to five-year terms; judicial--Supreme Court

      Leaders: Ramsewak SHANKAR, President (since January 1988); Henck ARRON, Vice President (since February 1988)

      Suffrage: universal adult

      Elections: last 25 November 1987, next scheduled for 1992

      Political parties and leaders: 25 February Movement established by Lt. Col. Desire Bouterse in November 1983, but much of its activity taken over by New Democratic Party (NDP) in May 1987; leftists (all small groups)--Revolutionary People's Party (RVP), Michael Naarendorp; Progressive Workers and Farmers (PALU), Iwan Krolis; traditional parties--Progressive Reform Party (VHP), Jaggernath Lachmon; National Party of Suriname (NPS), Henck Arron; Indonesian Peasants Party (KTPI), Willy Soemita; the VHP, NPS, and KTPI formed a coalition known as The Front in July 1987 that overwhelmingly defeated the NDP in the November 1987 elections

      Member of: ECLA, FAO, GATT, G-77, IBA, IBRD, ICAO, IDB--Inter-American Development Bank, IFAD, ILO, IMF, IMO, INTERPOL, ITU, NAM, OAS, PAHO, SELA, UN, UNESCO, UPU, WHO, WIPO, WMO

      Diplomatic representation: Ambassador Arnold T. HALFHIDE; Chancery at Suite 108, 4301 Connecticut Avenue NW, Washington DC 20008; telephone (202) 244-7488 or 7490 through 7492; there is a Surinamese Consulate General in Miami; US--Ambassador Richard HOWLAND; Embassy at Dr. Sophie Redmonstraat 129, Paramaribo (mailing address is P. O. Box 1821, Paramaribo); telephone �597� 72900 or 76459

      Flag: five horizontal bands of green (top, double width), white, red (quadruple width), white, and green (double width); there is a large yellow five-pointed star centered in the red band

      NOTE: The information regarding Suriname on this page is re-published from the 1989 World Fact Book of the United States Central Intelligence Agency. No claims are made regarding the accuracy of Suriname Government 1989 information contained here. All suggestions for corrections of any errors about Suriname Government 1989 should be addressed to the CIA.

    Support Our Sponsor

    Support Our Sponsor

    Please ADD this page to your FAVORITES - - - - -

    Revised 15-Apr-03
    Copyright © 2003 Photius Coutsoukis (all rights reserved)