Support our Sponsor

. . Flags of the World Maps of All Countries

  • |Main Index|
  • 1989 INDEX
  • Country Ranks
  • Home PageCountry Index

    The Gambia Government - 1989

      Long-form name: Republic of The Gambia

      Type: republic; on 1 February 1982, The Gambia and Senegal formed a loose confederation named Senegambia that calls for the eventual integration of their armed forces and economic cooperation

      Capital: Banjul

      Administrative divisions: 5 divisions and 1 city*; Banjul*, Lower River, MacCarthy Island, North Bank, Upper River, Western

      Independence: 18 February 1965 (from UK); Senegambian confederation agreement formally signed with Senegal on 12 December 1981 (effective 1 February 1982)

      Constitution: 24 April 1970

      Legal system: based on a composite of English common law, Koranic law, and customary law; accepts compulsory ICJ jurisdiction, with reservations

      National holiday: Independence Day, 18 February (1965)

      Branches: unicameral legislative branch (43-member parliament), in which four seats are reserved for tribal chiefs, four are government appointed, 36 are filled by election for five-year terms, a speaker is elected by the House, and the attorney general is an appointed member; independent judiciary

      Leader: @m5Chief of State and Head of Government--President Alhaji Sir Dawda Kairaba JAWARA (since 24 April 1970); Vice President Bakary Bunja DARBO (since 12 May 1982)

      Political parties and leaders: People's Progressive Party (PPP), secretary general, Dawda K. Jawara; National Convention Party (NCP), Sheriff Dibba; Gambian People's Party (GPP), Assan Musa Camara; United Party (UP); People's Democratic Organization of Independence and Socialism (PDOIS)

      Suffrage: universal at age 21

      Elections: general election held March 1987

      Voting strength: PPP 31 seats, NCP 5 seats

      Communists: no Communist party

      Member of: AfBD, APC, Commonwealth, ECA, ECOWAS, FAO, G-77, GATT, IBRD, ICAO, IDA, IDB--Inter-American Development Bank, IFAD, IFC, IMF, IMO, IRC, ITU, NAM, OAU, OIC, UN, UNESCO, UPU, WFTU, WHO, WMO, WTO

      Diplomatic representation: Ambassador Ousman A. SALLAH; Chancery at Suite 720, 1030 15th Street NW, Washington DC 20005; telephone (202) 842-1356 or 842-1359; US--Ambassador Herbert E. HOROWITZ; Embassy at Pipeline Road (Kairaba Avenue), Fajara, Banjul (mailing address is P. M. B. No. 19, Banjul); telephone Serrekunda �220� 92856 or 92858, 91970, 91971

      Flag: three equal horizontal bands of red (top), blue with white edges, and green

      NOTE: The information regarding The Gambia on this page is re-published from the 1989 World Fact Book of the United States Central Intelligence Agency. No claims are made regarding the accuracy of The Gambia Government 1989 information contained here. All suggestions for corrections of any errors about The Gambia Government 1989 should be addressed to the CIA.

    Support Our Sponsor

    Support Our Sponsor

    Please ADD this page to your FAVORITES - - - - -

    Revised 15-Apr-03
    Copyright © 2003 Photius Coutsoukis (all rights reserved)