Support our Sponsor

. . Flags of the World Maps of All Countries

  • |Main Index|
  • 1989 INDEX
  • Country Ranks
  • Home PageCountry Index

    Tuvalu Government - 1989

      Long-form name: none

      Type: independent state, special member of the Commonwealth

      Capital: Funafuti

      Administrative divisions: none

      Independence: 1 October 1978 (from UK; formerly Ellice Islands)

      Constitution: 1 October 1978

      National holiday: Independence Day, 1 October (1978)

      Branches: executive--prime minister and cabinet; unicameral legislature--12-member House of Parliament; judicial--High Court, eight island courts with limited jurisdiction

      Leaders: Tupua LEUPENA, Governor General (since 1 March 1986); Dr. Tomasi PUAPUA, Prime Minister (since September 1981)

      Suffrage: universal adult

      Elections: last general election September 1985, next scheduled for September 1989

      Political parties: none

      Member of: ESCAP (associate member), GATT (de facto), SPF, SPC, UPU

      Diplomatic representation: Ambassador (vacant); US--none

      Flag: light blue with the flag of the UK in the upper hoist-side quadrant; the outer half of the flag represents a map of the country with nine yellow five-pointed stars symbolizing the nine islands

      NOTE: The information regarding Tuvalu on this page is re-published from the 1989 World Fact Book of the United States Central Intelligence Agency. No claims are made regarding the accuracy of Tuvalu Government 1989 information contained here. All suggestions for corrections of any errors about Tuvalu Government 1989 should be addressed to the CIA.

    Support Our Sponsor

    Support Our Sponsor

    Please ADD this page to your FAVORITES - - - - -

    Revised 15-Apr-03
    Copyright © 2003 Photius Coutsoukis (all rights reserved)