Support our Sponsor

. . Flags of the World Maps of All Countries

  • |Main Index|
  • 1989 INDEX
  • Country Ranks
  • Home PageCountry Index

    Yugoslavia Government - 1989

      Long-form name: Socialist Federal Republic of Yugoslavia; abbreviated SFRY

      Type: Communist state, federal republic in form

      Capital: Belgrade

      Administrative divisions: 6 socialist republics (socijalisticke republike, singular--socijalisticka republika); Bosna i Hercegovina, Crna Gora, Hrvatska, Makedonija, Slovenija, Srbija

      Independence: 1 December 1918; independent monarchy established from the Kingdoms of Serbia and Montenegro, parts of the Turkish Empire, and the Austro-Hungarian Empire

      Constitution: 21 February 1974

      Legal system: mixture of civil law system and Communist legal theory; has not accepted compulsory ICJ jurisdiction

      National holiday: Proclamation of the Socialist Federal Republic of Yugoslavia, 29 November (1945)

      Branches: bicameral legislature (Federal Assembly--Federal Chamber, Chamber of Republics and Provinces); executive includes cabinet (Federal Executive Council) and the federal administration; judiciary; the State Presidency is a collective, rotating policymaking body composed of a representative from each republic and province

      Leaders: Ante MARKOVIC, President of the Federal Executive Council (since March 1989); nonrenewable four-year term expires May 1990; Janez DRNOVSEK (from Slovenia), Head of State; one-year rotating term expires May 1990

      Suffrage: universal over age 18

      Elections: Federal Assembly elected every four years by a complicated, indirect system of voting

      Political parties and leaders: League of Communists of Yugoslavia (LCY) only; leaders are 23 members of party Presidium selected proportionally from republics, provinces, and Yugoslav People's Army, with the president rotating on an annual basis and the secretary rotating every two years; president is Milan PANCEVSKI (from Macedonia) until at least December 1989 when a party congress will be held

      Communists: 2,167,860 party members (December 1985)

      Other political or pressure groups: Socialist Alliance of Working People of Yugoslavia (SAWPY), the major mass front organization; Confederation of Trade Unions of Yugoslavia (CTUY), League of Socialist Youth of Yugoslavia, Federation of Veterans' Associations of Yugoslavia (SUBNOR)

      Member of: ASSIMER, CCC, CEMA (observer but participates in certain commissions), FAO, G-77, GATT, IAEA, IBA, IBRD, ICAC, ICAO, IDA, IDB--Inter-American Development Bank, IFAD, IFC, IHO, ILO, ILZSG, IMF, IMO, INTELSAT, INTERPOL, IPU, ITC, ITU, NAM, OECD (participant in some activities), UN, UNESCO, UPU, WHO, WIPO, WMO, WTO

      Diplomatic representation: Ambassador Zivorad KOVACEVIC; Chancery at 2410 California Street NW, Washington DC 20008; telephone (202) 462-6566; there are Yugoslav Consulates General in Chicago, Cleveland, New York, Pittsburgh, and San Francisco; US--Ambassador John D. SCANLAN; Embassy at Kneza Milosa 50, Belgrade; telephone �38� (11) 645-655; there is a US Consulate General in Zagreb

      Flag: three equal horizontal bands of blue (top), white, and red with a large red five-pointed star edged in yellow superimposed in the center over all three bands

      NOTE: The information regarding Yugoslavia on this page is re-published from the 1989 World Fact Book of the United States Central Intelligence Agency. No claims are made regarding the accuracy of Yugoslavia Government 1989 information contained here. All suggestions for corrections of any errors about Yugoslavia Government 1989 should be addressed to the CIA.

    Support Our Sponsor

    Support Our Sponsor

    Please ADD this page to your FAVORITES - - - - -

    Revised 15-Apr-03
    Copyright © 2003 Photius Coutsoukis (all rights reserved)