Support our Sponsor

. . Flags of the World Maps of All Countries

  • |Main Index|
  • 1990 INDEX
  • Country Ranks
  • Home PageCountry Index

    Botswana Government - 1990

      Long-form name: Republic of Botswana

      Type: parliamentary republic

      Capital: Gaborone

      Administrative divisions: 10 districts; Central, Chobe, Ghanzi, Kgalagadi, Kgatleng, Kweneng, Ngamiland, North-East, South-East, Southern; note--in addition, there may now be 4 town councils named Francistown, Gaborone, Lobaste, Selebi-Pikwe

      Independence: 30 September 1966 (from UK; formerly Bechuanaland)

      Constitution: March 1965, effective 30 September 1966

      Legal system: based on Roman-Dutch law and local customary law; judicial review limited to matters of interpretation; has not accepted compulsory ICJ jurisdiction

      National holiday: Botswana Day, 30 September (1966)

      Executive branch: president, vice president, Cabinet

      Legislative branch: bicameral Parliament consists of an upper house or House of Chiefs and a lower house or National Assembly

      Judicial branch: High Court, Court of Appeal

      Leaders: Chief of State and Head of Government--President Quett K. J. MASIRE (since 13 July 1980); Vice President Peter S. MMUSI (since 3 January 1983)

      Political parties and leaders: Botswana Democratic Party (BDP), Quett Masire; Botswana National Front (BNF), Kenneth Koma; Botswana People's Party (BPP), Knight Maripe; Botswana Independence Party (BIP), Motsamai Mpho; Botswana Progressive Union (BPU), Daniel Kwele

      Suffrage: universal at age 21

      Elections: President--last held 7 October 1989 (next to be held October 1994); results--President Quett K. J. Masire was reelected by the National Assembly; National Assembly--last held 7 October 1989 (next to be held October 1994); results--percent of vote by party NA; seats--(34 total, 30 elected) BDP 31, BNF 3

      Communists: no known Communist organization; Koma of BNF has long history of Communist contacts

      Member of: ACP, AfDB, CCC, Commonwealth, FAO, G-77, GATT (de facto), IBRD, ICAO, IDA, IFAD, IFC, ILO, IMF, INTERPOL, ITU, NAM, OAU, Southern African Customs Union, SADCC, UN, UNESCO, UPU, WHO, WMO

      Diplomatic representation: Ambassador Botsweletse Kingsley SEBELE; Chancery at Suite 404, 4301 Connecticut Avenue NW, Washington DC 20008; telephone (202) 244-4990 or 4991; US--Ambassador-designate David PASSAGE; Deputy Chief of Mission Johnnie CARSON; Embassy at Botswana Road, Gaborone (mailing address is P. O. Box 90, Gaborone); telephone p267o 353982 through 353984

      Flag: light blue with a horizontal white-edged black stripe in the center

      NOTE: The information regarding Botswana on this page is re-published from the 1990 World Fact Book of the United States Central Intelligence Agency. No claims are made regarding the accuracy of Botswana Government 1990 information contained here. All suggestions for corrections of any errors about Botswana Government 1990 should be addressed to the CIA.

    Support Our Sponsor

    Support Our Sponsor

    Please ADD this page to your FAVORITES - - - - -

    Revised 07-Feb-03
    Copyright © 2003 Photius Coutsoukis (all rights reserved)