Support our Sponsor

. . Flags of the World Maps of All Countries

  • |Main Index|
  • 1990 INDEX
  • Country Ranks
  • Home PageCountry Index

    Burkina Government - 1990

      Long-form name: Burkina Faso

      Type: military; established by coup on 4 August 1983

      Capital: Ouagadougou

      Administrative divisions: 30 provinces; Bam, Bazega, Bougouriba, Boulgou, Boulkiemde, Ganzourgou, Gnagna, Gourma, Houet, Kadiogo, Kenedougou, Komoe, Kossi, Kouritenga, Mouhoun, Namentenga, Naouri, Oubritenga, Oudalan, Passore, Poni, Sanguie, Sanmatenga, Seno, Sissili, Soum, Sourou, Tapoa, Yatenga, Zoundweogo

      Independence: 5 August 1960 (from France; formerly Upper Volta)

      Constitution: none; constitution of 27 November 1977 was abolished following coup of 25 November 1980

      Legal system: based on French civil law system and customary law

      National holiday: Anniversary of the Revolution, 4 August (1983)

      Executive branch: chairman of the Popular Front, Council of Ministers

      Legislative branch: unicameral National Assembly (Assemblee Nationale) was dissolved on 25 November 1980

      Judicial branch: Appeals Court

      Leaders: Chief of State and Head of Government--Chairman of the Popular Front Captain Blaise COMPAORE (since 15 October 1987)

      Political parties and leaders: all political parties banned following November 1980 coup

      Suffrage: none

      Elections: the National Assembly was dissolved 25 November 1980 and no elections are scheduled

      Communists: small Communist party front group; some sympathizers

      Other political or pressure groups: committees for the defense of the revolution, watchdog/political action groups throughout the country in both organizations and communities

      Member of: ACP, AfDB, CCC, CEAO, EAMA, ECA, EIB (associate), Entente, FAO, GATT, G-77, IBRD, ICAO, IDA, IDB--Islamic Development Bank, IFAD, IFC, ILO, IMF, INTELSAT, INTERPOL, IPU, IRC, ITU, NAM, Niger River Commission, OAU, OCAM, OIC, UN, UNESCO, UPU, WCL, WFTU, WHO, WIPO, WMO, WTO

      Diplomatic representation: Ambassador Paul Desire KABORE; Chancery at 2340 Massachusetts Avenue NW, Washington DC 20008; telephone (202) 332-5577 or 6895; US--Ambassador David H. SHINN; Embassy at Avenue Raoul Follerau, Ouagadougou (mailing address is B. P. 35, Ouagadougou); telephone p226o 30-67-23 through 25

      Flag: two equal horizontal bands of red (top) and green with a yellow five-pointed star in the center; uses the popular pan-African colors of Ethiopia

      NOTE: The information regarding Burkina on this page is re-published from the 1990 World Fact Book of the United States Central Intelligence Agency. No claims are made regarding the accuracy of Burkina Government 1990 information contained here. All suggestions for corrections of any errors about Burkina Government 1990 should be addressed to the CIA.

    Support Our Sponsor

    Support Our Sponsor

    Please ADD this page to your FAVORITES - - - - -

    Revised 07-Feb-03
    Copyright © 2003 Photius Coutsoukis (all rights reserved)