Support our Sponsor

. . Flags of the World Maps of All Countries

  • |Main Index|
  • 1990 INDEX
  • Country Ranks
  • Home PageCountry Index

    Cambodia Government - 1990

      Long-form name: none

      Type: disputed between the Coalition Government of Democratic Kampuchea (CGDK) led by Prince NORODOM SIHANOUK and the People's Republic of Kampuchea (PRK) led by HENG SAMRIN

      Capital: Phnom Penh

      Administrative divisions: 18 provinces (khet, singular and plural) and 1 autonomous municipality* (rottatheanei, singular and plural); Batdambang, Kampong Cham, Kampong Chhnang, Kampong Spoe, Kampong Thum, Kampot, Kandal, Kaoh Kong, Kracheh, Mondol Kiri, Phnum Penh*, Pouthisat, Preah Vihear, Prey Veng, Rotanokiri, Siemreab-Otdar Meanchey, Stoeng Treng, Svay Rieng, Takev; note--there may be a new province of Banteay Meanchey and Siemreab-Otdar Meanchey may have been divided into two provinces named Siemreab and Otdar Meanchey

      Independence: 9 November 1953 (from France)

      Constitution: 27 June 1981

      National holidays: CGDK--Independence Day, 17 April (1975); PRK--Liberation Day, 7 January (1979)

      Executive branch: CGDK--president, prime minister; PRK--chairman of the Council of State, Council of State, chairman of the Council of Ministers, Council of Ministers

      Legislative branch: CGDK--none; PRK--unicameral National Assembly

      Judicial branch: CGDK--none; PRK--Supreme People's Court

      Leaders: Chief of State--CGDK--President Prince NORODOM SIHANOUK (since NA July 1982); PRK--Chairman of the Council of State HENG SAMRIN (since 27 June 1981); Head of Government--CGDK--Prime Minister SON SANN (since NA July 1982); PRK--Chairman of the Council of Ministers HUN SEN (since 14 January 1985)

      Political parties and leaders: CGDK--three resistance groups including Democratic Kampuchea (DK, also known as the Khmer Rouge) under Khieu Samphan, Khmer People's National Liberation Front (KPNLF) under Son Sann, and National United Front for an Independent, Neutral, Peaceful, and Cooperative Cambodia (FUNCINPEC) under Prince Norodom Sihanouk; PRK--Kampuchean People's Revolutionary Party (KPRP) led by Heng Samrin

      Suffrage: universal at age 18

      Elections: CGDK--none; PRK--National Assembly--last held 1 May 1981; in February 1986 the Assembly voted to extend its term for five years (next to be held by March 1990); results--KPRP is the only party; seats--(123 total) KPRP 123

      Member of: ADB, Colombo Plan, ESCAP, FAO, G-77, GATT (de facto), IAEA, IBRD, ICAO, IDA, ILO, IMF, IMO, INTERPOL, IRC, ITU, Mekong Committee (inactive), NAM, UN, UNESCO, UPU, WFTU, WHO, WMO, WTO for CGDK; none for PRK

      Diplomatic representation: none

      Flag: CGDK--red with the yellow silhouette of a stylized three-towered temple representing Angkor Wat in the center; Non-Communists--three horizontal bands of blue, red (double width), and blue with a white stylized temple representing Angkor Wat centered on the red band; PRK--red with the yellow silhouette of a stylized five-towered temple representing Angkor Wat in the center

      NOTE: The information regarding Cambodia on this page is re-published from the 1990 World Fact Book of the United States Central Intelligence Agency. No claims are made regarding the accuracy of Cambodia Government 1990 information contained here. All suggestions for corrections of any errors about Cambodia Government 1990 should be addressed to the CIA.

    Support Our Sponsor

    Support Our Sponsor

    Please ADD this page to your FAVORITES - - - - -

    Revised 07-Feb-03
    Copyright © 2003 Photius Coutsoukis (all rights reserved)