Support our Sponsor

. . Flags of the World Maps of All Countries

  • |Main Index|
  • 1990 INDEX
  • Country Ranks
  • Home PageCountry Index

    Cameroon Government - 1990

      Long-form name: Republic of Cameroon

      Type: unitary republic; one-party presidential regime

      Capital: Yaounde

      Administrative divisions: 10 provinces; Adamaoua, Centre, Est, Extreme-Nord, Littoral, Nord, Nord-Ouest, Ouest, Sud, Sud-Ouest

      Independence: 1 January 1960 (from UN trusteeship under French administration; formerly French Cameroon)

      Constitution: 20 May 1972

      Legal system: based on French civil law system, with common law influence; has not accepted compulsory ICJ jurisdiction

      National holiday: National Day, 20 May (1972)

      Executive branch: president, Cabinet

      Legislative branch: unicameral National Assembly (Assemblee Nationale)

      Judicial branch: Supreme Court

      Leaders: Chief of State and Head of Government President Paul BIYA (since 6 November 1982)

      Political parties and leaders: only party--Cameroon People's Democratic Movement (RDPC), Paul Biya, president

      Suffrage: universal at age 21

      Elections: President--last held 24 April 1988 (next to be held April 1993); results--President Paul Biya reelected without opposition; National Assembly--last held 24 April 1988 (next to be held April 1993); results--RDPC is the only party; seats--(180 total) RDPC 180

      Communists: no Communist party or significant number of sympathizers

      Other political or pressure groups: Cameroon People's Union (UPC), remains an illegal group with its factional leaders in exile

      Member of: ACP, AfDB, CCC, EAMA, ECA, EIB (associate), FAO, G-77, GATT, IAEA, IBRD, ICAC, ICAO, ICO, IDA, IDB--Islamic Development Bank, IFAD, IFC, ILO, IMF, IMO, INTELSAT, INTERPOL, IPU, ISO, ITU, Lake Chad Basin Commission, NAM, Niger River Commission, OAU, OIC, UDEAC, UN, UNESCO, UPU, WHO, WIPO, WMO, WTO

      Diplomatic representation: Ambassador Paul PONDI; Chancery at 2349 Massachusetts Avenue NW, Washington DC 20008; telephone (202) 265-8790 through 8794; US--Ambassador Frances COOK; Embassy at Rue Nachtigal, Yaounde (mailing address is B. P. 817, Yaounde); telephone p237o 234014; there is a US Consulate General in Douala

      Flag: three equal vertical bands of green (hoist side), red, and yellow with a yellow five-pointed star centered in the red band; uses the popular pan-African colors of Ethiopia

      NOTE: The information regarding Cameroon on this page is re-published from the 1990 World Fact Book of the United States Central Intelligence Agency. No claims are made regarding the accuracy of Cameroon Government 1990 information contained here. All suggestions for corrections of any errors about Cameroon Government 1990 should be addressed to the CIA.

    Support Our Sponsor

    Support Our Sponsor

    Please ADD this page to your FAVORITES - - - - -

    Revised 07-Feb-03
    Copyright © 2003 Photius Coutsoukis (all rights reserved)