Support our Sponsor

. . Flags of the World Maps of All Countries

  • |Main Index|
  • 1990 INDEX
  • Country Ranks
  • Home PageCountry Index

    Cocos (Keeling) Islands Government - 1990

      Long-form name: Territory of Cocos (Keeling) Islands

      Type: territory of Australia

      Capital: West Island

      Administrative divisions: none (territory of Australia)

      Independence: none (territory of Australia)

      Constitution: Cocos (Keeling) Islands Act of 1955

      Legal system: based upon the laws of Australia and local laws

      National holiday: NA

      Executive branch: British monarch, governor general of Australia, administrator, chairman of the Islands Council

      Legislative branch: unicameral Islands Council

      Judicial branch: Supreme Court

      Leaders: Chief of State--Queen ELIZABETH II (since 6 February 1952); Head of Government--Administrator D. LAWRIE (since NA 1989); Chairman of the Islands Council Parson Bin YAPAT (since NA)

      Suffrage: NA

      Elections: NA

      Diplomatic representation: none (territory of Australia)

      Flag: the flag of Australia is used

      NOTE: The information regarding Cocos (Keeling) Islands on this page is re-published from the 1990 World Fact Book of the United States Central Intelligence Agency. No claims are made regarding the accuracy of Cocos (Keeling) Islands Government 1990 information contained here. All suggestions for corrections of any errors about Cocos (Keeling) Islands Government 1990 should be addressed to the CIA.

    Support Our Sponsor

    Support Our Sponsor

    Please ADD this page to your FAVORITES - - - - -

    Revised 07-Feb-03
    Copyright © 2003 Photius Coutsoukis (all rights reserved)