Support our Sponsor

. . Flags of the World Maps of All Countries

  • |Main Index|
  • 1990 INDEX
  • Country Ranks
  • Home PageCountry Index

    Cook Islands Government - 1990

      Long-form name: none

      Type: self-governing in free association with New Zealand; Cook Islands fully responsible for internal affairs; New Zealand retains responsibility for external affairs, in consultation with the Cook Islands

      Capital: Avarua

      Administrative divisions: none

      Independence: became self-governing in free association with New Zealand on 4 August 1965 and has the right at any time to move to full independence by unilateral action

      Constitution: 4 August 1965

      National holiday: NA

      Executive branch: British monarch, representative of the UK, representative of New Zealand, prime minister, deputy prime minister, Cabinet

      Legislative branch: unicameral Parliament; note--the unicameral House of Arikis (chiefs) advises on traditional matters, but has no legislative powers

      Judicial branch: High Court

      Leaders: Chief of State--Queen ELIZABETH II (since 6 February 1952); Representative of the UK Sir Tangaroa TANGAROA (since NA); Representative of New Zealand Adrian SINCOCK (since NA); Head of Government--Prime Minister Geoffrey HENRY (since NA February 1989); Deputy Prime Minister Inatio AKARURU (since NA)

      Political parties and leaders: Cook Islands Party, Geoffrey Henry; Democratic Tumu Party, Vincent Ingram; Democratic Party, Dr. Vincent Pupuke Robati; Cook Islands Labor Party, Rena Jonassen; Cook Islands People's Party, Sadaraka Sadaraka

      Suffrage: universal adult at age NA

      Elections: Parliament--last held 19 January 1989 (next to be held by January 1994); results--percent of vote by party NA; seats--(24 total) Cook Islands Party 12, Democratic Tumu Party 2, opposition coalition (including Democratic Party) 9, independent 1

      Member of: ADB, ESCAP (associate member), IDA, IFC, IMF, SPEC, SPF

      Diplomatic representation: none (self-governing in free association with New Zealand)

      Flag: blue with the flag of the UK in the upper hoist-side quadrant and a large circle of 15 white five-pointed stars (one for every island) centered in the outer half of the flag

      NOTE: The information regarding Cook Islands on this page is re-published from the 1990 World Fact Book of the United States Central Intelligence Agency. No claims are made regarding the accuracy of Cook Islands Government 1990 information contained here. All suggestions for corrections of any errors about Cook Islands Government 1990 should be addressed to the CIA.

    Support Our Sponsor

    Support Our Sponsor

    Please ADD this page to your FAVORITES - - - - -

    Revised 07-Feb-03
    Copyright © 2003 Photius Coutsoukis (all rights reserved)