Support our Sponsor

. . Flags of the World Maps of All Countries

  • |Main Index|
  • 1990 INDEX
  • Country Ranks
  • Home PageCountry Index

    Kenya Government - 1990

      Long-form name: Republic of Kenya

      Type: republic

      Capital: Nairobi

      Administrative divisions: 7 provinces and 1 area*; Central, Coast, Eastern, Nairobi Area*, North-Eastern, Nyanza, Rift Valley, Western

      Independence: 12 December 1963 (from UK; formerly British East Africa)

      Constitution: 12 December 1963, amended as a republic 1964; reissued with amendments 1979, 1983, 1986, and 1988

      Legal system: based on English common law, tribal law, and Islamic law; judicial review in High Court; accepts compulsory ICJ jurisdiction, with reservations; constitutional amendment in 1982 made Kenya a de jure one-party state

      National holiday: Independence Day, 12 December (1963)

      Executive branch: president, vice president, Cabinet

      Legislative branch: unicameral National Assembly

      Judicial branch: Court of Appeal, High Court

      Leaders: Chief of State and Head of Government--President Daniel Teroitich arap MOI (since 14 October 1978); Vice President George SAITOTI (since 10 May 1989)

      Political parties and leaders: only party--Kenya African National Union (KANU), Daniel T. arap Moi, president

      Suffrage: universal at age 18

      Elections: President--last held on 21 March 1988 (next to be held February 1993); results--President Daniel T. arap Moi was reelected; National Assembly--last held on 21 March 1988 (next to be held March 1993); results--KANU is the only party; seats--(202 total, 188 elected) KANU 200

      Communists: may be a few Communists and sympathizers

      Other political or pressure groups: labor unions; exile opposition--Mwakenya and other groups

      Member of: ACP, AfDB, CCC, Commonwealth, FAO, G-77, GATT, IAEA, IBRD, ICAO, ICO, IDA, IFAD, IFC, ILO, IMF, IMO, INTELSAT, INTERPOL, IRC, ISO, ITU, IWC--International Wheat Council, NAM, OAU, UN, UNDP, UNESCO, UPU, WHO, WIPO, WMO, WTO

      Diplomatic representation: Ambassador Denis Daudi AFANDE; Chancery at 2249 R Street NW, Washington DC 20008; telephone (202) 387-6101; there are Kenyan Consulates General in Los Angeles and New York; US--Ambassador Smith HEMPSTONE; Embassy at the corner of Moi Avenue and Haile Selassie Avenue, Nairobi (mailing address is P. O. Box 30137, Nairobi or APO New York 09675); telephone p254o (2) 334141; there is a US Consulate in Mombasa

      Flag: three equal horizontal bands of black (top), red, and green; the red band is edged in white; a large warrior's shield covering crossed spears is superimposed at the center

      NOTE: The information regarding Kenya on this page is re-published from the 1990 World Fact Book of the United States Central Intelligence Agency. No claims are made regarding the accuracy of Kenya Government 1990 information contained here. All suggestions for corrections of any errors about Kenya Government 1990 should be addressed to the CIA.

    Support Our Sponsor

    Support Our Sponsor

    Please ADD this page to your FAVORITES - - - - -

    Revised 07-Feb-03
    Copyright © 2003 Photius Coutsoukis (all rights reserved)