Support our Sponsor

. . Flags of the World Maps of All Countries

  • |Main Index|
  • 1990 INDEX
  • Country Ranks
  • Home PageCountry Index

    Kiribati Government - 1990

      Long-form name: Republic of Kiribati

      Type: republic

      Capital: Tarawa

      Administrative divisions: 3 units; Gilbert Islands, Line Islands, Phoenix Islands; note--a new administrative structure of 6 districts (Banaba, Central Gilberts, Line Islands, Northern Gilberts, Southern Gilberts, Tarawa) may have been changed to 20 island councils (one for each of the inhabited islands) named Abaiang, Abemama, Aranuka, Arorae, Banaba, Beru, Butaritari, Kiritimati, Kuria, Maiana, Makin, Marakei, Nikunau, Nonouti, Onotoa, Tabiteuea, Tabuaeran, Tamana, Tarawa, Teraina

      Independence: 12 July 1979 (from UK; formerly Gilbert Islands)

      Constitution: 12 July 1979

      National holiday: Independence Day, 12 July (1979)

      Executive branch: president, vice president, Cabinet

      Legislative branch: unicameral House of Assembly (Maneaba Ni Maungatabu)

      Judicial branch: Court of Appeal, High Court

      Leaders: Chief of State and Head of Government--President Ieremia T. TABAI (since 12 July 1979); Vice President Teatao TEANNAKI (since 20 July 1979)

      Political parties and leaders: Gilbertese National Party; Christian Democratic Party, Teburoro Tito, secretary; essentially not organized on basis of political parties

      Suffrage: universal at age 18

      Elections: President--last held on 12 May 1987 (next to be held May 1991); results--Ieremia T. Tabai 50.1%, Tebruroro Tito 42.7%, Tetao Tannaki 7.2%; National Assembly--last held on 19 March l987 (next to be held March 1991); results--percent of vote by party NA; seats--(40 total; 39 elected) percent of seats by party NA

      Member of: ACP, ADB, Commonwealth, ESCAP (associate member), GATT (de facto), ICAO, IMF, SPF, WHO

      Diplomatic representation: Ambassador (vacant) lives in Tarawa (Kiribati); US--none

      Flag: the upper half is red with a yellow frigate bird flying over a yellow rising sun and the lower half is blue with three horizontal wavy white stripes to represent the ocean

      NOTE: The information regarding Kiribati on this page is re-published from the 1990 World Fact Book of the United States Central Intelligence Agency. No claims are made regarding the accuracy of Kiribati Government 1990 information contained here. All suggestions for corrections of any errors about Kiribati Government 1990 should be addressed to the CIA.

    Support Our Sponsor

    Support Our Sponsor

    Please ADD this page to your FAVORITES - - - - -

    Revised 07-Feb-03
    Copyright © 2003 Photius Coutsoukis (all rights reserved)