Support our Sponsor

. . Flags of the World Maps of All Countries

  • |Main Index|
  • 1990 INDEX
  • Country Ranks
  • Home PageCountry Index

    Laos Government - 1990

      Long-form name: Lao People's Democratic Republic

      Type: Communist state

      Capital: Vientiane

      Administrative divisions: 16 provinces (khoueng, singular and plural) and 1 municipality* (kampheng nakhon, singular and plural); Attapu, Bokeo, Bolikhamsai, Champasak, Houaphan, Khammouan, Louang Namtha, Louangphrabang, Oudomxai, Phongsali, Saravan, Savannakhet, Sekong, Vientiane, Vientiane*, Xaignabouri, Xiangkhoang

      Independence: 19 July 1949 (from France)

      Constitution: draft constitution under discussion since 1976

      Legal system: based on civil law system; has not accepted compulsory ICJ jurisdiction

      National holiday: National Day (proclamation of the Lao People's Democratic Republic), 2 December (1975)

      Executive branch: president, chairman and five vice chairmen of the Council of Ministers, Council of Ministers (cabinet)

      Legislative branch: Supreme People's Assembly

      Judicial branch: Central Supreme Court

      Leaders: Chief of State--Acting President PHOUMI VONGVICHIT (since 29 October 1986); Head of Government--Chairman of the Council of Ministers General KAYSONE PHOMVIHAN (since 2 December 1975)

      Political parties and leaders: Lao People's Revolutionary Party (LPRP), Kaysone Phomvihan, party chairman; includes Lao Patriotic Front and Alliance Committee of Patriotic Neutralist Forces; other parties moribund

      Suffrage: universal at age 18

      Elections: Supreme People's Assembly--last held on 26 March 1989 (next to be held NA); results--percent of vote by party NA; seats--(79 total) number of seats by party NA

      Other political or pressure groups: non-Communist political groups moribund; most leaders have fled the country

      Member of: ADB, Colombo Plan, ESCAP, FAO, G-77, IBRD, ICAO, IDA, IFAD, ILO, IMF, INTERPOL, IPU, IRC, ITU, Mekong Committee, NAM, UN, UNCTAD, UNESCO, UPU, WFTU, WHO, WMO, WTO

      Diplomatic representation: First Secretary, Charge d'Affaires ad interim DONE SOMVORACHIT; Chancery at 2222 S Street NW, Washington DC 20008; telephone (202) 332-6416 or 6417; US--Charge d'Affaires Charles B. SALMON; Embassy at Rue Bartholonie, Vientiane (mailing address is B. P. 114, Vientiane, or Box V, APO San Francisco 96346); telephone 2220, 2357, 2384

      Flag: three horizontal bands of red (top), blue (double width), and red with a large white disk centered in the blue band

      NOTE: The information regarding Laos on this page is re-published from the 1990 World Fact Book of the United States Central Intelligence Agency. No claims are made regarding the accuracy of Laos Government 1990 information contained here. All suggestions for corrections of any errors about Laos Government 1990 should be addressed to the CIA.

    Support Our Sponsor

    Support Our Sponsor

    Please ADD this page to your FAVORITES - - - - -

    Revised 07-Feb-03
    Copyright © 2003 Photius Coutsoukis (all rights reserved)