Support our Sponsor

. . Flags of the World Maps of All Countries

  • |Main Index|
  • 1990 INDEX
  • Country Ranks
  • Home PageCountry Index

    Lesotho Government - 1990

      Long-form name: Kingdom of Lesotho

      Type: constitutional monarchy

      Capital: Maseru

      Administrative divisions: 10 districts; Berea, Butha-Buthe, Leribe, Mafeteng, Maseru, Mohales Hoek, Mokhotlong, Qachas Nek, Quthing, Thaba-Tseka

      Independence: 4 October 1966 (from UK; formerly Basutoland)

      Constitution: 4 October 1966, suspended January 1970

      Legal system: based on English common law and Roman-Dutch law; judicial review of legislative acts in High Court and Court of Appeal; has not accepted compulsory ICJ jurisdiction

      National holiday: Independence Day, 4 October (1966)

      Executive branch: monarch, chairman of the Military Council, Military Council, Council of Ministers (cabinet)

      Legislative branch: a bicameral Parliament consisting of an upper house or Senate and a lower house or National Assembly was dissolved in January 1970; following the military coup of 20 January 1986, legislative powers were vested in the monarch

      Judicial branch: High Court, Court of Appeal

      Leaders: Chief of State--King MOSHOESHOE II (Paramount Chief from 1960 until independence on 4 October 1966, when he became King); Heir Apparent Letsie David SEEISO (son of the King); Head of Government--Chairman of the Military Council Maj. Gen. Justin Metsing LEKHANYA (since 24 January 1986)

      Political parties and leaders: Basotho National Party (BNP), position vacant; Basutoland Congress Party (BCP), Ntsu Mokhehle; Basotho Democratic Alliance (BDA), A. S. Nqojane; National Independent Party (NIP), A. C. Manyeli; Marematlou Freedom Party (MFP), S. H. Mapheleba; United Democratic Party, C. D. Mofeli

      Suffrage: universal at age 21

      Elections: National Assembly --dissolved following the military coup in January 1986; no date set for national elections

      Communists: small Lesotho Communist Party

      Member of: ACP, AfDB, CCC, Commonwealth, FAO, G-77, GATT (de facto), IBRD, ICAO, IDA, IFAD, IFC, ILO, IMF, INTERPOL, ITU, NAM, OAU, Southern African Customs Union, SADCC, UN, UNESCO, UPU, WHO, WMO

      Diplomatic representation: Ambassador W. T. VAN TONDER; Chancery at 2511 Massachusetts Avenue NW, Washington DC 20008; telephone (202) 797-5 534;

      US--Ambassador (vacant): Deputy Chief of Mission Howard F. JETER; Embassy at address NA, Maseru (mailing address is P. O. Box 333, Maseru 100); telephone p266o 312666

      Flag: divided diagonally from the lower hoist side corner; the upper half is white bearing the brown silhouette of a large shield with crossed spear and club; the lower half is a diagonal blue band with a green triangle in the corner

      NOTE: The information regarding Lesotho on this page is re-published from the 1990 World Fact Book of the United States Central Intelligence Agency. No claims are made regarding the accuracy of Lesotho Government 1990 information contained here. All suggestions for corrections of any errors about Lesotho Government 1990 should be addressed to the CIA.

    Support Our Sponsor

    Support Our Sponsor

    Please ADD this page to your FAVORITES - - - - -

    Revised 07-Feb-03
    Copyright © 2003 Photius Coutsoukis (all rights reserved)