Support our Sponsor

. . Flags of the World Maps of All Countries

  • |Main Index|
  • 1990 INDEX
  • Country Ranks
  • Home PageCountry Index

    Mali Government - 1990

      Long-form name: Republic of Mali

      Type: republic; single-party constitutional government

      Capital: Bamako

      Administrative divisions: 7 regions (regions, singular--region); Gao, Kayes, Koulikoro, Mopti, Segou, Sikasso, Tombouctou; note--there may be a new capital district of Bamako

      Independence: 22 September 1960 (from France; formerly French Sudan)

      Constitution: 2 June 1974, effective 19 June 1979; amended September 1981 and March 1985

      Legal system: based on French civil law system and customary law; judicial review of legislative acts in Constitutional Section of Court of State; has not accepted compulsory ICJ jurisdiction

      National holiday: Anniversary of the Proclamation of the Republic, 22 September (1960)

      Executive branch: president, Council of Ministers (cabinet)

      Legislative branch: unicameral National Assembly (Assemble Nationale)

      Judicial branch: Supreme Court (Cour Supreme)

      Leaders: Chief of State and Head of Government--President Gen. Moussa TRAORE (since 6 December 1968)

      Political parties and leaders: only party--Democratic Union of Malian People (UDPM)

      Suffrage: universal at age 21

      Elections: President--last held on 9 June 1985 (next to be held June 1991); results--General Moussa Traore was reelected without opposition; National Assembly--last held on 26 June 1988 (next to be held June 1991); results--UDPM is the only party; seats--(82 total) UDPM 82

      Communists: a few Communists and some sympathizers (no legal Communist party)

      Member of: ACP, AfDB, CEAO, ECA, ECOWAS, FAO, G-77, GATT (de facto), IAEA, IBRD, ICAO, IDA, IDB--Islamic Development Bank, IFAD, IFC, ILO, IMF, INTELSAT, INTERPOL, IPU, IRC, ITU, NAM, Niger River Commission, OAU, OIC, OMVS (Organization for the Development of the Senegal River Valley), UN, UNESCO, UPU, WHO, WMO, WTO,

      Diplomatic representation: Ambassador Alhousseyni TOURE; Chancery at 2130 R Street NW, Washington DC 20008; telephone (202) 332-2249 or 939-8950; US--Ambassador Robert M. PRINGLE; Embassy at Rue Testard and Rue Mohamed V., Bamako (mailing address is B. P. 34, Bamako); telephone 225834

      Flag: three equal vertical bands of green (hoist side), yellow, and red; uses the popular pan-African colors of Ethiopia

      NOTE: The information regarding Mali on this page is re-published from the 1990 World Fact Book of the United States Central Intelligence Agency. No claims are made regarding the accuracy of Mali Government 1990 information contained here. All suggestions for corrections of any errors about Mali Government 1990 should be addressed to the CIA.

    Support Our Sponsor

    Support Our Sponsor

    Please ADD this page to your FAVORITES - - - - -

    Revised 07-Feb-03
    Copyright © 2003 Photius Coutsoukis (all rights reserved)