Support our Sponsor

. . Flags of the World Maps of All Countries

  • |Main Index|
  • 1990 INDEX
  • Country Ranks
  • Home PageCountry Index

    Martinique Government - 1990

      Long-form name: Department of Martinique

      Type: overseas department of France

      Capital: Fort-de-France

      Administrative divisions: none (overseas department of France)

      Independence: none (overseas department of France)

      Constitution: 28 September 1958 (French Constitution)

      Legal system: French legal system

      National holiday: Taking of the Bastille, 14 July (1789)

      Executive branch: government commissioner

      Legislative branch: unicameral General Council and unicameral Regional Council

      Judicial branch: Supreme Court

      Leaders: Chief of State--President Francois MITTERRAND (since 21 May 1981); Head of Government--Government Commissioner Jean Claude ROURE (since 5 May 1989); President of the General Council Emile MAURICE (since NA 1988)

      Political parties: Rally for the Republic (RPR), Stephen Bago; Union of the Left composed of the Progressive Party of Martinique (PPM), Aime Cesaire; Socialist Federation of Martinique, Michael Yoyo; and the Communist Party of Martinique (PCM), Armand Nicolas; Union for French Democracy (UDF), Jean Maran

      Suffrage: universal at age 18

      Elections: General Council--last held on NA October 1988 (next to be held by March 1991); results--percent of vote by party NA; seats--(44 total) number of seats by party NA; Regional Assembly--last held on 16 March 1986 (next to be held by March 1992); results--UDF/RPR coalition 49.8%, PPM/FSM/PCM coalition 41.3%, others 8.9%; seats--(41 total) PPM/FSM/PCM coalition 21, UDF/RPR coalition 20; French Senate--last held 24 September 1989 (next to be held September 1992); results--percent of vote by party NA; seats--(2 total) UDF 1, PPM 1; French National Assembly--last held on 5 and 12 June 1988 (next to be held June 1993); results--percent of vote by party NA; seats--(4 total) PPM 1, FSM 1, RPR 1, UDF 1

      Communists: 1,000 (est.)

      Other political or pressure groups: Proletarian Action Group (GAP); Alhed Marie-Jeanne Socialist Revolution Group (GRS), Martinique Independence Movement (MIM), Caribbean Revolutionary Alliance (ARC), Central Union for Martinique Workers (CSTM), Marc Pulvar; Frantz Fanon Circle; League of Workers and Peasants

      Member of: WFTU

      Diplomatic representation: as an overseas department of France, Martiniquais interests are represented in the US by France; US--Consul General Ray ROBINSON; Consulate General at 14 Rue Blenac, Fort-de-France (mailing address is B. P. 561, Fort-de-France); telephone p596o 63-13-03

      Flag: the flag of France is used

      NOTE: The information regarding Martinique on this page is re-published from the 1990 World Fact Book of the United States Central Intelligence Agency. No claims are made regarding the accuracy of Martinique Government 1990 information contained here. All suggestions for corrections of any errors about Martinique Government 1990 should be addressed to the CIA.

    Support Our Sponsor

    Support Our Sponsor

    Please ADD this page to your FAVORITES - - - - -

    Revised 07-Feb-03
    Copyright © 2003 Photius Coutsoukis (all rights reserved)