Support our Sponsor

. . Flags of the World Maps of All Countries

  • |Main Index|
  • 1990 INDEX
  • Country Ranks
  • Home PageCountry Index

    Mauritius Government - 1990

      Long-form name: none

      Type: parliamentary democracy

      Capital: Port Louis

      Administrative divisions: 5 urban councils and 3 district councils*; Beau Bassin-Rose Hill, Curepipe, Moka-Flacq*, North*, Port Louis, Quatre Bornes, South*, Vacoas-Phoenix; note--there may now be 4 urban councils and 9 district councils* named Beau Bassin-Rose Hill, Black River*, Curepipe, Flacq*, Grand Port*, Moka*, Pamplemousses*, Plaine Wilhems*, Port Louis*, Quartre Bornes, Riviere du Rempart*, Savanne*, and Vacoas-Phoenix

      Independence: 12 March 1968 (from UK)

      Constitution: 12 March 1968

      Legal system: based on French civil law system with elements of English common law in certain areas

      National holiday: Independence Day, 12 March (1968)

      Executive branch: British monarch, governor general, prime minister, deputy prime minister, Council of Ministers (cabinet)

      Legislative branch: unicameral Legislative Assembly

      Judicial branch: Supreme Court

      Leaders: Chief of State--Queen ELIZABETH II (since 6 February 1952), represented by Governor General Sir Veerasamy RINGADOO (since 17 January 1986); Head of Government--Prime Minister Anerood JUGNAUTH (since 12 June 1982); Deputy Prime Minister Sir Satcam BOOLELL (since 15 August 1988)

      Political parties and leaders: the government is currently controlled by a coalition composed of the Militant Socialist Movement (MSM), A. Jugnauth, and the Mauritian Labor Party (MLP), S. Boolell; the main opposition union consists of the Mauritian Militant Movement (MMM), Prem Nababsing; Socialist Workers Front, Sylvio Michel; Democratic Labor Movement, Anil Baichoo; Mauritian Social Democratic Party (PMSD), G. Duval

      Suffrage: universal at age 18

      Elections: Legislative Assembly--last held on 30 August 1987 (next to be held 30 August 1992); results--percent of vote by party NA; seats--(70 total, 62 elected) MSM 24, MMM 21, MLP 10, PMSD 5, others 10

      Communists: may be 2,000 sympathizers; several Communist organizations; Mauritius Lenin Youth Organization, Mauritius Women's Committee, Mauritius Communist Party, Mauritius People's Progressive Party, Mauritius Young Communist League, Mauritius Liberation Front, Chinese Middle School Friendly Association, Mauritius/USSR Friendship Society

      Other political or pressure groups: various labor unions

      Member of: ACP, AfDB, CCC, Commonwealth, FAO, G-77, GATT, IAEA, IBRD, ICAO, IDA, IFAD, IFC, ILO, IMF, IMO, INTELSAT, INTERPOL, ISO, ITU, IWC--International Wheat Council, NAM, OAU, OCAM, UN, UNESCO, UPU, WFTU, WHO, WIPO, WMO, WTO

      Diplomatic representation: Ambassador Chitmansing JESSERAMSING; Chancery at Suite 134, 4301 Connecticut Avenue NW, Washington DC 20008; telephone (202) 244-1491 or 1492; US--Ambassador Penne KORTH; Embassy at 4th Floor, Rogers Building, John Kennedy Street, Port Louis; telephone 082347

      Flag: four equal horizontal bands of red (top), blue, yellow, and green

      NOTE: The information regarding Mauritius on this page is re-published from the 1990 World Fact Book of the United States Central Intelligence Agency. No claims are made regarding the accuracy of Mauritius Government 1990 information contained here. All suggestions for corrections of any errors about Mauritius Government 1990 should be addressed to the CIA.

    Support Our Sponsor

    Support Our Sponsor

    Please ADD this page to your FAVORITES - - - - -

    Revised 07-Feb-03
    Copyright © 2003 Photius Coutsoukis (all rights reserved)