Support our Sponsor

. . Flags of the World Maps of All Countries

  • |Main Index|
  • 1990 INDEX
  • Country Ranks
  • Home PageCountry Index

    Namibia Government - 1990

      Long-form name: Republic of Namibia

      Type: republic as of 21 March 1990

      Capital: Windhoek

      Administrative divisions: 26 districts; Bethanien, Boesmanland, Caprivi Oos, Damaraland, Gobabis, Grootfontein, Hereroland Oos, Hereroland Wes, Kaokoland, Karasburg, Karibib, Kavango, Keetmanshoop, Luderitz, Maltahohe, Mariental, Namaland, Okahandja, Omaruru, Otjiwarongo, Outjo, Owambo, Rehoboth, Swakopmund, Tsumeb, Windhoek

      Independence: 21 March 1990

      Constitution: ratified 9 February 1990

      Legal system: based on Roman-Dutch law and customary law

      National holiday: Settlers' Day, 10 December

      Executive branch: president, Cabinet, Constitutional Council

      Legislative branch: bicameral National Assembly

      Judicial branch: Supreme Court

      Leaders: Chief of State and Head of Government President Sam NUJOMA (since 21 March 1990)

      Political parties and leaders: South-West Africa People's Organization (SWAPO), Sam Nujoma; Democratic Turnhalle Alliance (DTA), Dirk Mudge; United Democratic Front (UDF), Justus Garoeb; Action Christian National (ACN), Kosie Pretorius; National Patriotic Front (NPF), Moses Katjiuongua; Federal Convention of Namibia (FCN), Hans Diergaardt; Namibia National Front (NNF), Vekuii Rukoro

      Suffrage: universal at age 18

      Elections: National Assembly--last held on 7-11 November 1989 (next to be held NA); results--percent of vote by party NA; seats--(72 total) SWAPO 41, DTA 21, UDF 4, ACN 3, NNF 1, FCN 1, NPF 1

      Communists: no Communist party

      Other political or pressure groups: NA

      Member of: FAO, IAEA, ILO, UNESCO, WHO

      Diplomatic representation: NA

      Flag: a large blue triangle with a yellow sunburst fills the upper left section, and an equal green triangle (solid) fills the lower right section; the triangles are separated by a red stripe which is contrasted by two narrow white edge borders

      NOTE: The information regarding Namibia on this page is re-published from the 1990 World Fact Book of the United States Central Intelligence Agency. No claims are made regarding the accuracy of Namibia Government 1990 information contained here. All suggestions for corrections of any errors about Namibia Government 1990 should be addressed to the CIA.

    Support Our Sponsor

    Support Our Sponsor

    Please ADD this page to your FAVORITES - - - - -

    Revised 07-Feb-03
    Copyright © 2003 Photius Coutsoukis (all rights reserved)