Support our Sponsor

. . Flags of the World Maps of All Countries

  • |Main Index|
  • 1990 INDEX
  • Country Ranks
  • Home PageCountry Index

    San Marino Government - 1990

      Long-form name: Republic of San Marino

      Type: republic

      Capital: San Marino

      Administrative divisions: 9 municipalities (castelli, singular--castello); Acquaviva, Borgo Maggiore, Chiesanuova, Domagnano, Faetano, Fiorentino, Monte Giardino, San Marino, Serravalle

      Independence: 301 (by tradition)

      Constitution: 8 October 1600; electoral law of 1926 serves some of the functions of a constitution

      Legal system: based on civil law system with Italian law influences; has not accepted compulsory ICJ jurisdiction

      National holiday: Anniversary of the Foundation of the Republic, 3 September

      Executive branch: two captains regent, Congress of State (cabinet); real executive power is wielded by the secretary of state for foreign affairs and the secretary of state for internal affairs

      Legislative branch: unicameral Grand and General Council (Consiglio Grande e Generale)

      Judicial branch: Council of Twelve (Consiglio dei XII)

      Leaders: Co-Chiefs of State and Co-Heads of Government--Captain Regent Salvatori REVES (since April 1989) and Captain Regent Luciano CARDELLI (since April 1989); Captains Regent are elected for six-month terms

      Political parties and leaders: Christian Democratic Party (DCS), Gabriele Gatti; Communist Party (PCS), Gilberto Ghiotti; Socialist Unity Party (PSU), Emilio Della Balda and Patrizia Busignani; San Marino Socialist Party (PSS), Antonio Volpinari; San Marino Social Democratic Party (PSDS), Augusto Casali; San Marino Republican Party (PRS), Cristoforo Buscarini

      Suffrage: universal at age 18

      Elections: Grand and General Council--last held 29 May 1988 (next to be held by May 1993); results--percent of vote by party NA; seats--(60 total) DCS 27, PCS 18, PSU 8, PSS 7

      Communists: about 300 members; the PCS, in conjunction with the PSS, PSU, and PSDS, has led the government since 1978

      Other political parties or pressure groups: political parties influenced by policies of their counterparts in Italy

      Member of: ICJ, ITU, IRC, UNESCO, UPU, WFTU, WHO, WTO; observer status in NAM

      Diplomatic representation: San Marino maintains honorary Consulates General in Washington and New York, and an honorary Consulate in Detroit; US--no mission in San Marino, but the Consul General in Florence (Italy) is accredited to San Marino; Consulate General at 38 Lungarno Amerigo Vespucci, Florence, Italy (mailing address is APO NY 09019); telephone p39o (55) 298-276

      Flag: two equal horizontal bands of white (top) and light blue with the national coat of arms superimposed in the center; the coat of arms has a shield (featuring three towers on three peaks) flanked by a wreath, below a crown and above a scroll bearing the word LIBERTAS (Liberty)

      NOTE: The information regarding San Marino on this page is re-published from the 1990 World Fact Book of the United States Central Intelligence Agency. No claims are made regarding the accuracy of San Marino Government 1990 information contained here. All suggestions for corrections of any errors about San Marino Government 1990 should be addressed to the CIA.

    Support Our Sponsor

    Support Our Sponsor

    Please ADD this page to your FAVORITES - - - - -

    Revised 07-Feb-03
    Copyright © 2003 Photius Coutsoukis (all rights reserved)