Support our Sponsor

. . Flags of the World Maps of All Countries

  • |Main Index|
  • 1990 INDEX
  • Country Ranks
  • Home PageCountry Index

    Sao Tome and Principe Government - 1990

      Long-form name: Democratic Republic of Sao Tome and Principe

      Type: republic

      Capital: Sao Tome

      Administrative divisions: 2 districts (concelhos, singular--concelho); Principe, Sao Tome

      Independence: 12 July 1975 (from Portugal)

      Constitution: 5 November 1975, approved 15 December 1982

      Legal system: based on Portuguese law system and customary law; has not accepted compulsory ICJ jurisdiction

      National holiday: Independence Day, 12 July (1975)

      Executive branch: president, prime minister, Council of Ministers (cabinet)

      Legislative branch: unicameral National People's Assembly, sometimes referred to as the National Popular Assembly (Assembleia Popular Nacional)

      Judicial branch: Supreme Court

      Leaders: Chief of State--President Dr. Manuel Pinto da COSTA (since 12 July 1975); Head of Government--Prime Minister Celestino Rocha da COSTA (since 8 January 1988)

      Political parties and leaders: only party--Movement for the Liberation of Sao Tome and Principe (MLSTP), Dr. Manuel Pinto da Costa

      Suffrage: universal at age 18

      Elections: President--last held 30 September 1985 (next to be held September 1990); results--President Dr. Manuel Pinto da Costa was reelected without opposition by the National People's Assembly; National People's Assembly--last held 30 September 1985 (next to be held September 1990); results--MLSTP is the only party; seats--(40 total) MLSTP 40 (indirectly elected)

      Member of: ACP, AfDB, FAO, G-77, GATT (de facto), IBRD, ICAO, IDA, IFAD, IFC, ILO, IMF, ITU, NAM, OAU, UN, UNESCO, UPU, WHO, WMO

      Diplomatic representation: Ambassador Joaquim Rafael BRANCO; Chancery (temporary) at 801 Second Avenue, Suite 1504, New York, NY 10017; telephone (212) 697-4211; US--the US Ambassador in Gabon is accredited to Sao Tome and Principe on a nonresident basis and makes periodic visits to the islands

      Flag: three horizontal bands of green (top), yellow (double width), and green with two black five-pointed stars placed side by side in the center of the yellow band and a red isosceles triangle based on the hoist side; uses the popular pan-African colors of Ethiopia

      NOTE: The information regarding Sao Tome and Principe on this page is re-published from the 1990 World Fact Book of the United States Central Intelligence Agency. No claims are made regarding the accuracy of Sao Tome and Principe Government 1990 information contained here. All suggestions for corrections of any errors about Sao Tome and Principe Government 1990 should be addressed to the CIA.

    Support Our Sponsor

    Support Our Sponsor

    Please ADD this page to your FAVORITES - - - - -

    Revised 07-Feb-03
    Copyright © 2003 Photius Coutsoukis (all rights reserved)