Support our Sponsor

. . Flags of the World Maps of All Countries

  • |Main Index|
  • 1990 INDEX
  • Country Ranks
  • Home PageCountry Index

    Sierra Leone Government - 1990

      Long-form name: Republic of Sierra Leone

      Type: republic under presidential regime

      Capital: Freetown

      Administrative divisions: 4 provinces; Eastern, Northern, Southern, Western

      Independence: 27 April 1961 (from UK)

      Constitution: 14 June 1978

      Legal system: based on English law and customary laws indigenous to local tribes; has not accepted compulsory ICJ jurisdiction

      National holiday: Republic Day, 27 April (1961)

      Executive branch: president, two vice presidents, Cabinet

      Legislative branch: unicameral House of Representatives

      Judicial branch: Supreme Court

      Leaders: Chief of State and Head of Government--President Gen. Joseph Saidu MOMOH (since 28 November 1985); First Vice President Abu Bakar KAMARA (since 4 April 1987); Second Vice President Salia JUSU-SHERIFF (since 4 April 1987)

      Political parties and leaders: only party--All People's Congress (APC), Gen. Joseph Saidu Momoh

      Suffrage: universal at age 21

      Elections: President--last held 1 October 1985 (next to be held October 1992); results--Gen. Joseph Saidu Momoh was elected without opposition; House of Representatives--last held 30 May 1986 (next to be held May 1991); results--APC is the only party; seats--(127 total, 105 elected) APC 105

      Communists: no party, although there are a few Communists and a slightly larger number of sympathizers

      Member of: ACP, AfDB, Commonwealth, ECA, ECOWAS, FAO, G-77, GATT, IAEA, IBA, IBRD, ICAO, ICO, IDA, IDB--Islamic Development Bank, IFAD, IFC, ILO, IMF, IMO, INTERPOL, IPU, IRC, ITU, Mano River Union, NAM, OAU, OIC, UN, UNESCO, UPU, WHO, WMO, WTO

      Diplomatic representation: Ambassador George CAREW; Chancery at 1701 19th Street NW, Washington DC 20009; telephone (202) 939-9261; US--Ambassador Johnny YOUNG; Embassy at the corner of Walpole and Siaka Stevens Street, Freetown; telephone 26481

      Flag: three equal horizontal bands of light green (top), white, and light blue

      NOTE: The information regarding Sierra Leone on this page is re-published from the 1990 World Fact Book of the United States Central Intelligence Agency. No claims are made regarding the accuracy of Sierra Leone Government 1990 information contained here. All suggestions for corrections of any errors about Sierra Leone Government 1990 should be addressed to the CIA.

    Support Our Sponsor

    Support Our Sponsor

    Please ADD this page to your FAVORITES - - - - -

    Revised 07-Feb-03
    Copyright © 2003 Photius Coutsoukis (all rights reserved)