Support our Sponsor

. . Flags of the World Maps of All Countries

  • |Main Index|
  • 1990 INDEX
  • Country Ranks
  • Home PageCountry Index

    Somalia Government - 1990

      Long-form name: Somali Democratic Republic

      Type: republic

      Capital: Mogadishu

      Administrative divisions: 16 regions (plural--NA, singular--gobolka); Bakool, Banaadir, Bari, Bay, Galguduud, Gedo, Hiiraan, Jubbada Dhexe, Jubbada Hoose, Mudug, Nugaal, Sanaag, Shabeellaha Dhexe, Shabeellaha Hoose, Togdheer, Woqooyi Galbeed

      Independence: 1 July 1960 (from a merger of British Somaliland, which became independent from the UK on 26 June 1960, and Italian Somaliland, which became independent from the Italian-administered UN trusteeship on 1 July 1960, to form the Somali Republic)

      Constitution: 25 August 1979, presidential approval 23 September 1979

      National holiday: Anniversary of the Revolution, 21 October (1969)

      Executive branch: president, two vice presidents, prime minister, Council of Ministers (cabinet)

      Legislative branch: unicameral People's Assembly

      Judicial branch: Supreme Court

      Leaders: Chief of State--President and Commander in Chief of the Army Maj. Gen. Mohamed SIAD Barre (since 21 October 1969); Head of Government--Prime Minister Lt. Gen. Mohamed Ali SAMANTAR (since 1 February 1987)

      Political parties and leaders: only party--Somali Revolutionary Socialist Party (SRSP), Maj. Gen. Mohamed Siad Barre, general secretary

      Suffrage: universal at age 18

      Elections: President--last held 23 December 1986 (next to be held December 1993); results--President Siad was reelected without opposition; People's Assembly--last held 31 December 1984 (next scheduled for December 1989 was postponed); results--SRSP is the only party; seats--(177 total, 171 elected) SRSP 171

      Communists: probably some Communist sympathizers in the government hierarchy

      Member of: ACP, AfDB, Arab League, EAMA, FAO, G-77, IBRD, ICAO, IDA, IDB--Islamic Development Bank, IFAD, IFC, ILO, IMF, IMO, INTELSAT, INTERPOL, ITU, NAM, OAU, OIC, UN, UNESCO, UPU, WFTU, WHO, WMO

      Diplomatic representation: Ambassador ABDIKARIM Ali Omar; Chancery at Suite 710, 600 New Hampshire Avenue NW, Washington DC 20037; telephone (202) 342-1575; there is a Somali Consulate General in New York; US--Ambassador T. Frank CRIGLER; Embassy at Corso Primo Luglio, Mogadishu (mailing address is P. O. Box 574, Mogadishu); telephone p252o (01) 20811

      Flag: light blue with a large white five-pointed star in the center; design based on the flag of the UN (Italian Somaliland was a UN trust territory)

      NOTE: The information regarding Somalia on this page is re-published from the 1990 World Fact Book of the United States Central Intelligence Agency. No claims are made regarding the accuracy of Somalia Government 1990 information contained here. All suggestions for corrections of any errors about Somalia Government 1990 should be addressed to the CIA.

    Support Our Sponsor

    Support Our Sponsor

    Please ADD this page to your FAVORITES - - - - -

    Revised 07-Feb-03
    Copyright © 2003 Photius Coutsoukis (all rights reserved)