Support our Sponsor

. . Flags of the World Maps of All Countries

  • |Main Index|
  • 1990 INDEX
  • Country Ranks
  • Home PageCountry Index

    St. Kitts and Nevis Government - 1990

      Long-form name: Federation of Saint Kitts and Nevis

      Type: constitutional monarchy

      Capital: Basseterre

      Administrative divisions: 14 parishs; Christ Church Nichola Town, Saint Anne Sandy Point, Saint George Basseterre, Saint George Gingerland, Saint James Windward, Saint John Capisterre, Saint John Figtree, Saint Mary Cayon, Saint Paul Capisterre, Saint Paul Charlestown, Saint Peter Basseterre, Saint Thomas Lowland, Saint Thomas Middle Island, Trinity Palmetto Point

      Independence: 19 September 1983 (from UK)

      Constitution: 19 September 1983

      Legal system: based on English common law

      National holiday: Independence Day, 19 September (1983)

      Executive branch: British monarch, governor general, prime minister, deputy prime minister, Cabinet

      Legislative branch: unicameral House of Assembly (sometimes referred to as the National Assembly)

      Judicial branch: Eastern Caribbean Supreme Court

      Leaders: Chief of State--Queen ELIZABETH II (since 6 February 1952), represented by Governor General Sir Clement Athelston ARRINDELL (since 19 September 1983, previously Governor General of the Associated State since November 1981); Head of Government--Prime Minister Dr. Kennedy Alphonse SIMMONDS (since 19 September 1983, previously Premier of the Associated State since February 1980); Deputy Prime Minister Michael Oliver POWELL (since NA)

      Political parties and leaders: People's Action Movement (PAM), Kennedy Simmonds; St. Kitts and Nevis Labor Party (SKNLP), Lee Moore; Nevis Reformation Party (NRP), Simeon Daniel; Concerned Citizens Movement (CCM), Vance Amory

      Suffrage: universal adult at age NA

      Elections: House of Assembly--last held 21 March 1989 (next to be held by 21 March 1994); seats--(14 total, 11 elected) PAM 6, SKNLP 2, NRP 2, CCM 1

      Communists: none known

      Member of: ACP, CARICOM, Commonwealth, FAO, IBRD, IMF, ISO, OAS, OECS, UN

      Diplomatic representation: Minister-Counselor (Deputy Chief of Mission), Charge d'Affaires ad interim Erstein M. EDWARDS; Chancery at Suite 540, 2501 M Street NW, Washington DC 20037; telephone (202) 833-3550; US--none

      Flag: divided diagonally from the lower hoist side by a broad black band bearing two white five-pointed stars; the black band is edged in yellow; the upper triangle is green, the lower triangle is red

      NOTE: The information regarding St. Kitts and Nevis on this page is re-published from the 1990 World Fact Book of the United States Central Intelligence Agency. No claims are made regarding the accuracy of St. Kitts and Nevis Government 1990 information contained here. All suggestions for corrections of any errors about St. Kitts and Nevis Government 1990 should be addressed to the CIA.

    Support Our Sponsor

    Support Our Sponsor

    Please ADD this page to your FAVORITES - - - - -

    Revised 07-Feb-03
    Copyright © 2003 Photius Coutsoukis (all rights reserved)