Support our Sponsor

. . Flags of the World Maps of All Countries

  • |Main Index|
  • 1990 INDEX
  • Country Ranks
  • Home PageCountry Index

    Tokelau Government - 1990

      Long-form name: none

      Type: territory of New Zealand

      Capital: none, each atoll has its own administrative center

      Administrative divisions: none (territory of New Zealand)

      Independence: none (territory of New Zealand)

      Constitution: administered under the Tokelau Islands Act of 1948, as amended in 1970

      Legal system: British and local statutes

      National holiday: Waitangi Day (Treaty of Waitangi established British sovereignty over New Zealand), 6 February (1840)

      Executive branch: administrator (appointed by the Minister of Foreign Affairs in New Zealand), official secretary

      Legislative branch: Council of Elders (Taupulega) on each atoll

      Judicial branch: High Court in Niue, Supreme Court in New Zealand

      Leaders: Chief of State--Queen ELIZABETH II (since 6 February 1952); Head of Government--Administrator Neil WALTER; Official Secretary M. NORRISH, Office of Tokelau Affairs

      Suffrage: NA

      Elections: NA

      Communists: probably none

      Diplomatic representation: none (territory of New Zealand)

      Flag: the flag of New Zealand is used

      NOTE: The information regarding Tokelau on this page is re-published from the 1990 World Fact Book of the United States Central Intelligence Agency. No claims are made regarding the accuracy of Tokelau Government 1990 information contained here. All suggestions for corrections of any errors about Tokelau Government 1990 should be addressed to the CIA.

    Support Our Sponsor

    Support Our Sponsor

    Please ADD this page to your FAVORITES - - - - -

    Revised 07-Feb-03
    Copyright © 2003 Photius Coutsoukis (all rights reserved)