Support our Sponsor

. . Flags of the World Maps of All Countries

  • |Main Index|
  • 1990 INDEX
  • Country Ranks
  • Home PageCountry Index

    Turkey Government - 1990

      Long-form name: Republic of Turkey

      Type: republican parliamentary democracy

      Capital: Ankara

      Administrative divisions: 67 provinces (iller, singular--il); Adana, Adiyaman, Afyon, Agri, Amasya, Ankara, Antalya, Artvin, Aydin, Balikesir, Bilecik, Bingol, Bitlis, Bolu, Burdur, Bursa, Canakkale, Cankiri, Corum, Denizli, Diyarbakir, Edirne, Elazig, Erzincan, Erzurum, Eskisehir, Gaziantep, Giresun, Gumushane, Hakkari, Hatay, Icel, Isparta, Istanbul, Izmir, Kahraman Maras, Kars, Kastamonu, Kayseri, Kirklareli, Kirsehir, Kocaeli, Konya, Kutahya, Malatya, Manisa, Mardin, Mugla, Mus, Nevsehir, Nigde, Ordu, Rize, Sakarya, Samsun, Siirt, Sinop, Sivas, Tekirdag, Tokat, Trabzon, Tunceli, Urfa, Usak, Van, Yozgat, Zonguldak; note--there may be four new provinces named Aksaray, Bayburt, Karaman, and Kirikkale

      Independence: 29 October 1923 (successor state to the Ottoman Empire)

      Constitution: 7 November 1982

      Legal system: derived from various continental legal systems; accepts compulsory ICJ jurisdiction, with reservations

      National holiday: Anniversary of the Declaration of the Republic, 29 October (1923)

      Executive branch: president, Presidential Council, prime minister, deputy prime minister, Cabinet

      Legislative branch: unicameral Grand National Assembly (Buyuk Millet Meclisi)

      Judicial branch: Court of Cassation

      Leaders: Chief of State--President Turgut OZAL (since 9 November 1989); Head of Government--Prime Minister Yildirim AKBULUT (since 9 November 1989); Deputy Prime Minister Ali BOZER (since 31 March 1989)

      Political parties and leaders: Motherland Party (ANAP), Yildirim Akbulut; Social Democratic Populist Party (SHP), Erdal Inonu; Correct Way Party (CWP), Suleyman Demirel; Democratic Left Party (DLP), Bulent Ecevit; Prosperity Party (RP), Necmettin Erbakan; National Work Party (MCP), Alpaslan Turkes; Reform Democratic Party (IDP), Aykut Edibali

      Suffrage: universal at age 21

      Elections: Grand National Assembly--last held 29 November 1987 (next to be held November 1992); results--ANAP 36%, SHP 25%, CWP 19%, others 20%; seats--(450 total) ANAP 283, SHP 81, CWP 56, independents 26, vacant 4

      Communists: strength and support negligible

      Member of: ASSIMER, CCC, Council of Europe, EC (associate member), ECOSOC, FAO, GATT, IAEA, IBRD, ICAC, ICAO, IDA, IDB--Islamic Development Bank, IEA, IFAD, IFC, IHO, ILO, IMF, IMO, INTELSAT, INTERPOL, IOOC, IPU, ITC, ITU, NATO, OECD, OIC, UN, UNESCO, UPU, WHO, WIPO, WMO, WSG, WTO

      Diplomatic representation: Ambassador Nuzhet KANDEMIR; Chancery at 1606 23rd Street NW, Washington DC 20008; telephone (202) 387-3200; there are Turkish Consulates General in Chicago, Houston, Los Angeles, and New York; US--Ambassador Morton ABRAMOWITZ; Embassy at 110 Ataturk Boulevard, Ankara (mailing address is APO New York 09254--0001); telephone p90o (4) 126 54 70; there are US Consulates General in Istanbul and Izmir, and a Consulate in Adana

      Flag: red with a vertical white crescent (the closed portion is toward the hoist side) and white five-pointed star centered on the hoist side

      NOTE: The information regarding Turkey on this page is re-published from the 1990 World Fact Book of the United States Central Intelligence Agency. No claims are made regarding the accuracy of Turkey Government 1990 information contained here. All suggestions for corrections of any errors about Turkey Government 1990 should be addressed to the CIA.

    Support Our Sponsor

    Support Our Sponsor

    Please ADD this page to your FAVORITES - - - - -

    Revised 07-Feb-03
    Copyright © 2003 Photius Coutsoukis (all rights reserved)